1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips LCD's - progressive scan but no component inputs

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by nelliott, Sep 24, 2004.

  1. nelliott

    nelliott
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. Am looking to buy one of the newer Philips LCD's (possibly the 23pf9946) but am a bit confused about how I could feed it a progressive signal. The tv's come with scart, s-video, dvi and vga inputs so I guess I'd have to use the dvi socket for progressive scan?

    Can you get a component to dvi-i cable?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    yes
     
  3. nelliott

    nelliott
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great, thanks (er - yes to what?) :)
     
  4. reckless

    reckless
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    983
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    I think he meant you can get the cable that will enable you to send component from your dvd player to the dvi socket on the set.

    Could be wrong mind :)
     
  5. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    Try Keene.co.uk, I know you can get YUV(component) to VGA, my Kiss DVD player will output to VGA via its scart
     
  6. nelliott

    nelliott
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies. Looking around I think I could get a component to vga, then a vga to dvi cable which should work.
     
  7. alasdair

    alasdair
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +7
    The relaunched 32pf9986 comes with a Dvi to VGA adaptor & a VGA to component cable; mine didn't come with it however a phone call to Philips sorted that out; however i now can't get it to work !!

    If anyone has any ideas.....
    using a hi-def xbox connection (on a modded machine) & just getting a blue screen...
     
  8. baku

    baku
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the US version have HDMI and component input + Pixel Plus, while the EU version only have scart,DVI but no Pixel plus :thumbsdow :mad:

    will it work to play or watch PAL dvd/xbox/ps2 games on a NTSC LCD TV???
    I want the US version not the crappy EU version..

    Edit: eu version response time is 25 while the US is 16 :/
     
  9. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,017
    EU refresh rate is 50Hz, US is 60Hz.

    At least that might be the argument they use for lower specced panels.

    TBH, I don't think its worth getting stressed about the response rate if its a good panel. There are some great 25ms panels, and some crap 16ms ones.
     

Share This Page

Loading...