Philips LCD's - progressive scan but no component inputs

Discussion in 'Philips TVs Forum' started by nelliott, Sep 24, 2004.

Tags:
  1. nelliott

    nelliott
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. Am looking to buy one of the newer Philips LCD's (possibly the 23pf9946) but am a bit confused about how I could feed it a progressive signal. The tv's come with scart, s-video, dvi and vga inputs so I guess I'd have to use the dvi socket for progressive scan?

    Can you get a component to dvi-i cable?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    yes
     
  3. nelliott

    nelliott
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great, thanks (er - yes to what?) :)
     
  4. reckless

    reckless
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    I think he meant you can get the cable that will enable you to send component from your dvd player to the dvi socket on the set.

    Could be wrong mind :)
     
  5. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    Try Keene.co.uk, I know you can get YUV(component) to VGA, my Kiss DVD player will output to VGA via its scart
     
  6. nelliott

    nelliott
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies. Looking around I think I could get a component to vga, then a vga to dvi cable which should work.
     
  7. alasdair

    alasdair
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +19
    The relaunched 32pf9986 comes with a Dvi to VGA adaptor & a VGA to component cable; mine didn't come with it however a phone call to Philips sorted that out; however i now can't get it to work !!

    If anyone has any ideas.....
    using a hi-def xbox connection (on a modded machine) & just getting a blue screen...
     
  8. baku

    baku
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the US version have HDMI and component input + Pixel Plus, while the EU version only have scart,DVI but no Pixel plus :thumbsdow :mad:

    will it work to play or watch PAL dvd/xbox/ps2 games on a NTSC LCD TV???
    I want the US version not the crappy EU version..

    Edit: eu version response time is 25 while the US is 16 :/
     
  9. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,051
    EU refresh rate is 50Hz, US is 60Hz.

    At least that might be the argument they use for lower specced panels.

    TBH, I don't think its worth getting stressed about the response rate if its a good panel. There are some great 25ms panels, and some crap 16ms ones.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice