1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips HDRW720

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by stanleyntl, Oct 12, 2004.

1. stanleyntl

stanleyntl

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +44
    What is this recorder like for PQ and ease of operation?
    Any disadvantages with this recorder?

2. stuartdcodd

stuartdcodd
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I only have a 32" 4:3 TV and record everything in M2+ mode ie 2.5hrs and am more than happy but I'm not a PQ expert.
    I find it easy to use as most operations are on seperate buttone ie toggle EPG Guide/Record setup, toggle PlayList, toggle Record Schedule etc.
    Editing on Hard Disk is easy.
    Drawbacks to me are :
    Remote a bit on small side
    Cannot record direct to DVD
    Cannot record DVD to HDD
    People also say lack of variable bit recording is a failure. I just think ahead.

Summary from my point of view. - I'm more than happy especially because of EPG and Satellite & Freeview control

Stuart

3. phelings

phelings
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is without a doubt the poorest HDD/DVDR combo on the market,and one wonders why anyone would buy it.
    No recording direct to dvd is not a major problem,but if you record something in peak quality to the HDD of more than an hour,you cannot copy it to dvd due to the lack of flexible recording-a major ommission.Why should you need to think ahead.What if its something new and you don't decide you want to keep it until after its recorded?Every other machine on the market provides FR in some form.
    The latest What Video has a featurew comparing all the latest HDD/DVDR combos.The Philips does not come out of it very well,as the reviewers state that even in top recording mode,broadcast quality is unobtainable.Not a good sign!