Philips dvdr75

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by lazysod, Feb 22, 2004.

  1. lazysod

    lazysod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds,Kent
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi ,does anyone know why the recorded video from the dvdr75 plays back in 16:9 on the Philips but only plays back in 4:3 on any other DVD player, even after putting it through TMPGenc DVDAuthor.
     
  2. lazysod

    lazysod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds,Kent
    Ratings:
    +15
    Just read a few posts on the subject ,looks like it,s the w/screen flag. What a flaw in this day of widescreen tv,s.
     
  3. robpiggott

    robpiggott
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    does the philips record in widesceen then??
     
  4. lazysod

    lazysod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds,Kent
    Ratings:
    +15
    Yes in VR mode,its just that the dvd guidelines dont support this so DVD players play it back in 4:3 so you have to use zoom mode
     
  5. robpiggott

    robpiggott
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    so if i record from my sky box which is widescreen to my dvdr-75 then it should playback in widscreen formaton the dvdr 75..i think??

    am i correct
     
  6. lazysod

    lazysod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds,Kent
    Ratings:
    +15
    THats right when i record anything from sky it plays back in widescreen on the 75
     
  7. robpiggott

    robpiggott
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    um there must be something wrong with mine then as it dont play back in widescreen mode...?? would rgb have anything to do with it as i record from rgb but can only out put normal scart as i only got one rgb scart on my widescreen tv..

    rob
     
  8. lazysod

    lazysod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds,Kent
    Ratings:
    +15
    Wouldnt have thought RGB would make any difference, you have got it set to 16:9 in the menu i take it. I dont use RGB my self as I connect everythig through my receiver,s S-Video
     
  9. lazysod

    lazysod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds,Kent
    Ratings:
    +15
  10. robpiggott

    robpiggott
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah a little confusing i will have to play around i find that if i look at my sky picture directly linked to the tv it all looks fine, but when i look at the same picture travelling through the recorder the picture is squeezed up a little and does not look fully widescreen...i dont know why and also why it has only started happening or i didn't notice it before hand??

    thanks for your help

    rob
     

Share This Page

Loading...