1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

philips dvdr70

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by vince_vega, Jul 29, 2004.

  1. vince_vega

    vince_vega
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    720
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi guys
    i dont know if this has been asked before as this is my first post, But what is the best way to hook up the philips dvdr70 to my existing setup?
    I currently have a panasonic widescreen tv with only one RGB scart socket, A panasonic vcr, and the philips dvdr70.
    I have tried to follow the manual but everytime i turn off the dvdr 70 i can only seem to watch sky with a composite signal!
    help :lease:
     
  2. iamthenewno2

    iamthenewno2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    VCR - Sky Video
    Sky TV - DVDR Ext2
    DVDR Ext1 - TV

    Check Sky & DVDR are set to RGB
     
  3. vince_vega

    vince_vega
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    720
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    that is my exact connection setup but i still cannot seem to watch sky digital in RGB!
    Are there any other ways round this eg using a scart switch box, and if so how would i set it up?
     
  4. iamthenewno2

    iamthenewno2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    Have you checked both the SKY and DVDR setting to check that they are set up for RGB ? My set up is the same (using a Cable box) and works fine.
     
  5. vince_vega

    vince_vega
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    720
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yep both are set up for RGB! Its bugging me now arrrgh!
     
  6. QED

    QED
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Couple of older posts that may help....
    Post1
    Post2
     
  7. JefUK

    JefUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    440
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +52
    Check that the cable from Sky to DVDR70 is a fully connected type and not a composite only connection. If it is fully connected check that it is not faulty.
     
  8. vince_vega

    vince_vega
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    720
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Ok then guys, I have just double checked my connections and they are sky box(tv scart)------dvdr(ext 2 scart)--------dvdr(ext 1 scart)--------tv(rgb scart) but still when i put the dvdr into standby i can only get a composite signal. I can watch sky in full RGB through the dvdr but i dont want to leave it on all the time as it gets quite hot
    It looks the same as your setup JefUK! what the fudge is going on?
     
  9. JefUK

    JefUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    440
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +52
    Are you absolutely sure that in standby you are only getting composite and when the R70 is "on" the full RGB signal is output?

    When "on" the signal from EXT2 is processed before being output to EXT1, in standby it is a much more direct "loop-through". So it could be that there is a problem with the loop-through switching. You could try a hard reset of the DVDR70 and if that does not fix it update to the latest firmware (FF16k). If these do not work then I think it is back to Philips!
     

Share This Page

Loading...