1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips Dvdr - 980 Recorder, Help Needed For Newbie !!

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Yummy Fur, May 28, 2003.

1. Yummy Fur

Yummy Fur

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I was just wondering if any of you good folk out there help me, as I’m totally new to the world of DVD recorders.

Firstly, I have just bought (for £244) a Philips DVDR – 980 machine. I have a week or so to try the machine out and make sure I’m fully satisfied with it. If not, I can take it back for a full refund. My primary aim is to archive old VHS tapes. Timeshifting TV and transferring camcorder footage are secondary considerations, but will probably be done at some time in the future.

So a few questions –

1) I know it’s not a current model, but is it a good purchase? I see that for only £100 more there are other alternatives online – should I be looking at any other machine? I am aware that the 980 lacks both a HDD and firewire input – would most of you consider these essential features? If you think I should replace the 980 with another machine, then which one and why?

2) I know that Philips DVD recorders have come in for a lot of stick concerning various problems and reliability issues. Is the 980 such a ‘rogue’ machine? Does it have ‘issues’ –are there any 980 owners out there with tales to tell?

3) The machine as purchased is Region 2 only. Is there any simple hack to multi region it? Or does that require hardware modification?

4) I have various DVD players & TV’s, including a Pioneer DV 606 (first gen US machine) Pioneer 909 (first gen DVD player & LD combi) and a couple of cheapie DVD machines, a Mico Classica 20 and a Cyberhome CH-DVD 400.