1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips DVDR 890 - problems recording

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Fireman Phil, May 9, 2005.

1. Fireman Phil

Fireman Phil

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recently bought a Philips 890 to copy and keep programmes recorded on Sky+. Having got over the problems of linking it all up (I'm not technically minded!), every time I put a disc in and try to copy it won't have it. I have tried Philips own DVD's and Maxell. Anybody got any ideas please? Thank you.

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    What sort of error are you getting? The unit only takes DVD+RW and DVD+R discs and so you need to ensure you are using those. I should point out though that this unit - along with all of Philips DVD recorders - are infamous for failing.

3. Fireman Phil

Fireman Phil

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I firstly tried the Philips own disc but now that reads "unkown data". I then tried the Maxells but I'm not sure if these are compatible - the message reads "disc error" - The front cover reads DVD+R 120 min video recordable 4.7 GB data - is this for a DVD or PC?

4. musukebba

musukebba

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16
    It doesn't matter whether this type of disc is used in a PC or a DVD recorder, but the fact that you got the 'Disc Error' message suggests your machine may be broken. Where exactly did you get it from?

5. Fireman Phil

Fireman Phil

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0