1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips DTR500 outputs

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Passingbat, Jul 1, 2005.

  1. Passingbat

    Passingbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,329
    Hi. Could someone with a Philips DTR500 Freeview box tell me what the digital audio out connection is ---- Coaxial or Optical? I've downloaded the manual and it's unclear. Page 14 says it is a CINCH cable, which I think is RCA Phono but the picture shows an optical output on the back. Phillips tell me it's coaxial. As I've run out of optical inputs on my Yamaha RXV1500, I need a coaxial output from the Freeview box.

    Could someone also confirm what (I think) the manual says, that I can get RGB from the TV SCART and S-Video from the Video scart.

    Thanks in advance for any help
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Cinch connectors are usually phono (RCA) - although Cinch are a company that make lots of different connectors.

    Can't help you with the other enquiries - Philips are a brand that are on my "don't touch with a barge pole" list :)
     
  3. SquidMan

    SquidMan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just had a peek at the back of my DTR 500, it has standard stereo phono for audio, and a digital audio out... which seems to be a single phono-type socket... don't know if this helps... it certainly doesn't have optical!

    You can get RGB Scart signal from the TV output, and a standard signal for the video scart... let me know if you need any more details :)

    Cheers

    SquidMan
     
  4. Passingbat

    Passingbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,329
    Thanks very much SquidMan for looking, it's so very much appreciated. That's what I wanted to hear --- as I understand it, coaxial audio out uses a single phono plug.
     
  5. Passingbat

    Passingbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,329
    Reading the manual I'm pretty sure you can get S-Video from the video scart output, even though Philips told me you can't (it says you can get Y/C, which I'm fairly sure is S-Video).

    Are you happy with your DTR500 and have you had any problems? It seems to be the best box for me, considering my connection requirements :)
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Y/C is indeed s-video :)
     
  7. Passingbat

    Passingbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,329
    Thanks Nick for the confirmation.

    The thing I find worrying is that the answer that S-Video wasn't available from the VCR scart, came from someone in Philips engineering. Do they not know that Y/C is S-Video?. That coupled with a manual that shows a drawing with the digital output labeled (and drawn as) 'Digital OPTICAL Out' is concerning. On the plus side, the support person I spoke to was extremely helpful and though, as even he couldn't provide answers from a 'faulty' manual, he did ring me back the same day with the engineering dept. reply :)
     
  8. HarryAlffa

    HarryAlffa
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any adapter which would allow two optical feeds into one? If there was, would it be a good idea?!? :eek: Just wondering.
     

Share This Page

Loading...