Philips DTR500 outputs

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Passingbat, Jul 1, 2005.

  1. Passingbat

    Passingbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,331
    Hi. Could someone with a Philips DTR500 Freeview box tell me what the digital audio out connection is ---- Coaxial or Optical? I've downloaded the manual and it's unclear. Page 14 says it is a CINCH cable, which I think is RCA Phono but the picture shows an optical output on the back. Phillips tell me it's coaxial. As I've run out of optical inputs on my Yamaha RXV1500, I need a coaxial output from the Freeview box.

    Could someone also confirm what (I think) the manual says, that I can get RGB from the TV SCART and S-Video from the Video scart.

    Thanks in advance for any help
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Cinch connectors are usually phono (RCA) - although Cinch are a company that make lots of different connectors.

    Can't help you with the other enquiries - Philips are a brand that are on my "don't touch with a barge pole" list :)
     
  3. SquidMan

    SquidMan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just had a peek at the back of my DTR 500, it has standard stereo phono for audio, and a digital audio out... which seems to be a single phono-type socket... don't know if this helps... it certainly doesn't have optical!

    You can get RGB Scart signal from the TV output, and a standard signal for the video scart... let me know if you need any more details :)

    Cheers

    SquidMan
     
  4. Passingbat

    Passingbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,331
    Thanks very much SquidMan for looking, it's so very much appreciated. That's what I wanted to hear --- as I understand it, coaxial audio out uses a single phono plug.
     
  5. Passingbat

    Passingbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,331
    Reading the manual I'm pretty sure you can get S-Video from the video scart output, even though Philips told me you can't (it says you can get Y/C, which I'm fairly sure is S-Video).

    Are you happy with your DTR500 and have you had any problems? It seems to be the best box for me, considering my connection requirements :)
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Y/C is indeed s-video :)
     
  7. Passingbat

    Passingbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,331
    Thanks Nick for the confirmation.

    The thing I find worrying is that the answer that S-Video wasn't available from the VCR scart, came from someone in Philips engineering. Do they not know that Y/C is S-Video?. That coupled with a manual that shows a drawing with the digital output labeled (and drawn as) 'Digital OPTICAL Out' is concerning. On the plus side, the support person I spoke to was extremely helpful and though, as even he couldn't provide answers from a 'faulty' manual, he did ring me back the same day with the engineering dept. reply :)
     
  8. HarryAlffa

    HarryAlffa
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any adapter which would allow two optical feeds into one? If there was, would it be a good idea?!? :eek: Just wondering.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice