1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips DFR9000 digital AV amp - 2x HDMI, DCDi upscaling, DAB

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by ccparkhill, Mar 20, 2005.

  1. ccparkhill

    ccparkhill
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, SE1
    Ratings:
    +14
    Looks like an impressive set of features as reported on Home Cinema Choice.

    Due in April for around £400
     
  2. Kazman

    Kazman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Luton, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +139
    Features look impressive, lets hope the sound is good too though :) If anything, it could be used as a processor and the amplification could be done with a decent power amp....if it has the pre-outs that are needed of course :).

    Great to see this, shows that the HDMI amps and video processing are moving across the market, and not just staying at the high end.
     
  3. jerkyboy

    jerkyboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hopefully it will allow upscaling via component, unlike any DVD players.

    This unit sound very nice, amazing specs.
     
  4. Mr109

    Mr109
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

    Anyone know anymore about this amp yet? I can't find anything concrete.

    I am after a reasonably cheap way to take a variety of signals and output one HDMI signal to my pt700, would this do that?

    Thanks for any info.

    Al
     
  5. zeropoint

    zeropoint
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
  6. Mr109

    Mr109
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Thanks, but the link seems to have been removed. You didn't save a copy by any chance?


    Edit - Seems to be a Firefox issue, works in IE. Thanks.
    Regards

    Al
     
  7. Mr109

    Mr109
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Having read the manual it's still not clear whether I'll be able to take a variety of video signals and output them via the HDMI port :confused:

    It does look like a fine peice of kit though, I just hope philips get back to me and answer the question.

    Regards

    Al
     
  8. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    £400.00 for that??!?!?

    Bargain.

    Pete.
     
  9. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    It would sell by the shipload if it were badged Denon, Pioneer, Yamaha, Sony etc...but unfortunately it isn't. And if Philips don't pay for appropriate advertising space (and invite the right people to the right free-drinks events) then it won't get great reviews either.

    Mike.
     
  10. zeropoint

    zeropoint
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Yes, the manual seems to leave a lot of questions unanswered. However, with 2:1 HDMI switchers at around £140, then £400 (or lower street price) for an HDMI switcher, with added RGBS, S-Video, composite, and digital audio switching, plus Faroudja DCDi, scaling, image adjustments, DNR, upconversion (details unknown), etc.. seems quite a bargain, even without factoring in the FM/DAB tuner, and MC amp. Although, it would be nice to be able to switch between RGBS & component - if RGBS upconversion is provided.
     
  11. Mr109

    Mr109
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

    Too good to be true, looks that way:

    "Dear Mr. Dawes,

    Thank you for your recent e-mail.

    With regards to your query we can advise that the DFR9000 will not output a HDMI signal when a scart signal is inputted.

    We trust that the information provided will be of assistance.

    Should you require any further information please contact our Customer Care Centre (details below) quoting customer reference number 50-51931386.

    Kind regards,

    Philips Customer Care"


    Looks like I'm going to be running more cables that I would like.

    Regards

    Al
     
  12. jerkyboy

    jerkyboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know if it will upscale via component ?
     
  13. Mr109

    Mr109
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I asked theat very question via email yesterday. I'll post back with the results.

    Al
     
  14. Mr109

    Mr109
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

    I had the following from Philips:

    Dear Mr Dawes,

    Thank you for your recent e-mail.

    With regards to your query we can advise that the amp will not be able to convert scart and composite to its component output.

    We trust that the information provided will be of assistance.

    Should you require any further information please contact our Customer Care Centre (details below) quoting customer reference number 50-51931386.

    Kind regards,

    Philips Customer Care


    So it looks like it will simply act as a switching unit for signals. It will upscale via Component but only with a component feed.

    Regards

    Al
     
  15. jerkyboy

    jerkyboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes thats great Philips, but does it upscale via component as it does through HDMI ?????????????????
     
  16. tont

    tont
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    YES, it upscales from every input (CVBS, S-Video, RGB and Component) to
    HDMI and Component output).
     
  17. marconist

    marconist
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
  18. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +825
    Class D digital amps, switch-mode power supply, HDMI V1.1, configurable analogue and digital inputs, DAB receiver..... This little thing has got it all. Can't wait for a proper UK review.

    Nick
     

Share This Page

Loading...