Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Philips Black Bars, How to Demo?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by bazzae123, Oct 25, 2003.

  1. bazzae123

    bazzae123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just a quikie, If I went to my local shop with a copy of AVIA. How easy is it to get the "black bars" to show on a Philips P+?
     
  2. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,820
    Ideally you want a light background. AVIA has some colour screens (Blue, Yellow etc) but you may just spot them on normal TV broadcasts. Look out for the feint line down the centre of the screen.

    We've just had the tube replaced on our Philips 9527 P+ as it kept switching itself on and off. Whilst it's better, the black bars are still slightly visible on light backgrounds but only if you look for them.
     
  3. PaulJ

    PaulJ
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I had the black bar problem as well. Mine appeared on dark scenes. One at either side of screen about 1 inch wide and 1 inch in from side of screen.

    I found that these could be made more prominent when there was a dark scene by turning up the brightness.

    When the brightness was low you could not see the bars as the rest of the screen becomes as dark as the bars and then they belnd in.

    Regards

    Paul :lesson:
     
  4. Wayne Moule

    Wayne Moule
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    1,885
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +79
    Is there a black bar down the middle then?
     
  5. blindlemon

    blindlemon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found that darkish blue screens were best - like the blank between channel changes on Sky. Increasing contrast and brightness also made the black bars more visible.

    See my post on page 30 of this thread for a picture of my black bars...
     
  6. tom-m

    tom-m
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Take a copy of Harry Potter and the philosophers stone, the mist scene bit with the owl on the street sign, turn the brightness up a bit and they should stand out like a sore thumb.
     
  7. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,820
    There's a feint line down the middle about 1cm wide. Oddly enough it's exactly where the line appears when you view the Pixel Plus demo (one side of the screen using P+, the other not). I assume it's to do with that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice