Philips 55POS9002 TV Owners and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Philips TVs Forum' started by MultiRoom, Nov 30, 2017.


    1. MultiRoom

      MultiRoom
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 1, 2009
      Messages:
      969
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      63
      Ratings:
      +388
      For the discussion of the 55POS9002 OLED TV by Philips.

      I believe @KennyM68 has received his, I receive mine in a few hours and I'm sure there are others who are starting to receive theirs today and in the coming days and weeks.
       
    2. 55POS9002

      55POS9002
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 25, 2017
      Messages:
      60
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      Norwich
      Ratings:
      +15
      Mine comes tomorrow :)
       
    3. KennyM68

      KennyM68
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Nov 24, 2017
      Messages:
      28
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Chester
      Ratings:
      +0
      image.jpg Hey folks, is anybody able to help me with picture settings? I am not able to see detail in dark areas as much as I was expecting.
       
    4. KennyM68

      KennyM68
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Nov 24, 2017
      Messages:
      28
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Chester
      Ratings:
      +0
      I will take another pic tonight in dark, wife is washing the curtains
       
    5. peggle

      peggle
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Aug 29, 2004
      Messages:
      158
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +24
    6. 55POS9002

      55POS9002
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 25, 2017
      Messages:
      60
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      Norwich
      Ratings:
      +15
      SDR settings video here :-

      Philips 55POS9002 4K UHD OLED TV - SDR picture...


      But he'll only let you have HDR settings for €5 (link below the video)......
       
    7. MultiRoom

      MultiRoom
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 1, 2009
      Messages:
      969
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      63
      Ratings:
      +388
      67 seems very high, 51 or 52 is all you can go to on the LGs without raising the blacks. Might be different on the Philips, only 2 or 3 hours to wait.....grrrr!

      @KennyM68, again I've not tried the TV but having the curtains closed will definitely help. You should try the settings mentioned in the video above, choose ISF day mode and relax. When I got my first OLED it did take me a while to settle into the picture having come from a plasma.

      Tick tock, tick tock.
       
    8. 55POS9002

      55POS9002
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 25, 2017
      Messages:
      60
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      Norwich
      Ratings:
      +15
      Some more options here :-

      Philips 9002 OLED TV Unboxing + Picture Settings


      I'll still be going on personal preference when mine comes tomorrow, though....
       
    9. peggle

      peggle
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Aug 29, 2004
      Messages:
      158
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +24
      I get proper black at 67 assuming the broadcaster transmits it. For instance the recent Our Girl series on BBC1 was a mid gray instead of black at 67. I adjusted it to around 58 for that. The majority of programs and downloaded films are OK at 67. My contrast is also low which might impact on the black level.

      However my settings are always very different to most people as I like a true to life picture.
       
      Last edited: Nov 30, 2017
    10. peggle

      peggle
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Aug 29, 2004
      Messages:
      158
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +24
      Repost from the other thread -

      What S/W have you got on the 9002/05?

      Entering 123654 will the display the Customer Service Menu with 3 pages of info. Won't invalidate the guarantee.
       
    11. MultiRoom

      MultiRoom
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 1, 2009
      Messages:
      969
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      63
      Ratings:
      +388
      Ok, so I've had a few hours to watch the TV, and so far things look good. I have a horizontal band along the bottom which, if it doesn't disappear, will mean that I'll. E exchanging it. However, one thing I have noticed is an odd smeary effect on blacks. Was watching Eastenders last night and there was a very dark scene in a dimly lit garage. It looked smeary and like the walls were moving/floating. Can't really describe any other way. Anybody have any idea what causes this?
       
    12. KennyM68

      KennyM68
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Nov 24, 2017
      Messages:
      28
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Chester
      Ratings:
      +0
      Hi Peggle, software on mine is what it came with out of the box, there are no available updates so far.
      Current Version TPM172E_R.001.002.102.073
       
    13. peggle

      peggle
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Aug 29, 2004
      Messages:
      158
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +24
      Thanks. My 9002/12 is TPM171.... so not compatible.

      Strange as the 9002/05 S/W on Philips UK product page is an earlier version of TPM171....
       
    14. 55POS9002

      55POS9002
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 25, 2017
      Messages:
      60
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      Norwich
      Ratings:
      +15
      55POS9002/05 with TPM172E_R.001.002.102.073 Ambilight problem with letterbox movies

      As we all know, this UK version just released and the firmware above is the latest for direct download - however this is newer than on the /05 webpage, but older than on the /12 webpage.

      The top ambilight doesn’t detect the edge of letterboxed movies and just shows dim white (as per black screen). I also have a 55PUS6272 (different OS and firmware of course!) and the ambilight works really well with letterboxed movies on that so there's clearly an issue with either the 9002/05 firmware or my particular set (I suspect the former as it's fine with full screen content or if I zoom a movie artificially).

      Questions - is the UK firmware country specific? (I suspect so given the comments earlier in this thread).

      Does anyone else in the UK have the same issue?

      Should I try the latest /12 version (euro) firmware or will I lose UK specifics like Freeview Play (or worse)?

      I have a similar question open over on the Philips support forums but "Caroline - Philips" only seems to turn up sporadically....

      Shame that my £579 Argos 6272 performs better than my £2k 9002/05 in this respect....
       
    15. 55POS9002

      55POS9002
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 25, 2017
      Messages:
      60
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      Norwich
      Ratings:
      +15

      OK - so Philips customer care have just confirmed that /05 UK and /12 Euro software are different - mainly down to UK apps and Freeview Play.

      However, they also claim that the Ambilight issue of letterboxed movies is "normal" - although my £579 55PUS6272 copes fine with detecting the edge of letterboxed content and the top ambilight works as expected.

      I've challenged this, but can anyone with a /12 version and software confirm the top ambilight situation with letterboxed content please? Might as well have bought another 6272 and saved £1400 ......
       
      Last edited: Dec 4, 2017
    16. MultiRoom

      MultiRoom
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 1, 2009
      Messages:
      969
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      63
      Ratings:
      +388
      I'm not home until tomorrow, would be a bit disappointed if it works in the way you've described, but I'll check.
       
    17. peggle

      peggle
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Aug 29, 2004
      Messages:
      158
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +24
      My 9002/12 Ambilight works normally on letterbox and pillar box content. Can sometimes take a second or so to kick in, but that was the same on previous Ambilight TV's.

      There is a slight greenish bias on the top compared to the sides on all content that others have commented on.
       
    18. KennyM68

      KennyM68
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Nov 24, 2017
      Messages:
      28
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Chester
      Ratings:
      +0
      image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg I tried to take video and upload but for some reason I can’t, think it is coz I am on an iPad and is creating a.mov
      Anyway Ambilight works fine on mine with letterbox films.
       
    19. 55POS9002

      55POS9002
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 25, 2017
      Messages:
      60
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      Norwich
      Ratings:
      +15
      Thanks to you both. I’ve spent some time playing with the Ambilight options tonight and have got some more output from the top strip - I think it may be made worse because my TV is across a corner as opposed to flat on the wall too - but my room layout prevents any other siting.....
       
    20. MultiRoom

      MultiRoom
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 1, 2009
      Messages:
      969
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      63
      Ratings:
      +388
    21. KennyM68

      KennyM68
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Nov 24, 2017
      Messages:
      28
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Chester
      Ratings:
      +0
      ROFL It’s perfectly level, TV is on a tilt and turn mount and is at an angle for watching from corner sofa. It goes flat to wall when not in use
       
    22. KennyM68

      KennyM68
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Nov 24, 2017
      Messages:
      28
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Chester
      Ratings:
      +0
      Hey folks

      Had this set two weeks now, took me about a week to get the setup I liked (had to go the full hue setup after watching @peggle video post). So far am very impressed, picture quality is excellent, ambilight with hue creates a fantastic atmosphere and is a brilliant feature that has exceeded what I was expecting. I have sound going through a Sonos playbar with 2 x Sonos 1 for surrounds, this is where there is a problem, the picture/sound is out of sync. It’s not a lot and can go at times completely unnoticed, however at other times is so far out it’s distracting. This I am hopeful will be fixed via a software update soon, as I have heard others talking of similar issues.
      I also went out and bought 2 x Philips Go lamps, Hue is amazing feature, just my thoughts
       
    23. tom79

      tom79
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Jan 18, 2006
      Messages:
      19
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      3
      Location:
      Ipswich
      Ratings:
      +1
      Hi folks, just for your information, really...

      Been waiting for this TV since July to come to the UK! It arrived yesterday from Richer Sounds and I set it up and ran through all my devices - seriously impressed with picture quality. Then overnight (4am!) I was woken by it switching itself on and off in continuous loop and I had to unplug at the wall. This morning, it’s unable to show any picture without constant erratic glitches. I took a video and grabbed a screenshot of its internal UHD demo reel.
      So, I’m in the process of exchanging...back to my half-dead 46PFL7007 it was to replace(!)
       

      Attached Files:

    24. cgpav

      cgpav
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Nov 28, 2015
      Messages:
      23
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      6
      Location:
      Sheffield uk
      Ratings:
      +6
      That's not good, I've not seen that before! Hope you get it sorted soon.

      Whilst it was working, did you notice any greenish ambilight whites on the top LED strip?

      I posted a video of mine here:
      Prime Photos

      I'm trying to establish if there are any 55POS9002's out there that don't have this problem, or if it's just normal.
      Maybe you could take a look when you get your replacement. Thanks.
       
    25. tom79

      tom79
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Jan 18, 2006
      Messages:
      19
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      3
      Location:
      Ipswich
      Ratings:
      +1
      Ok, so I have the replacement and it seems to be working fine. I have had a couple of crashes with a USB drive when I was viewing 4K clips, but I hope to use a media server once its up on the wall.

      I did not notice a disparity between the ambilight lamps - but there 'could' be a very subtle one. What did you use to get a white screen?
      Ill try and get a photo for you for comparison.

      I'm definitely not concerned with a slight difference as the dynamic colour shifts mask it. What I have noticed is how much brighter it is compared to the outgoing 7007. Also - I never expected to think this, but with the deep blacks of OLED, I like the TV as much with ambilight off - its made me more relaxed to the fact if this does pack in, I can get the LG and miss it only a little.
       
    26. cgpav

      cgpav
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Nov 28, 2015
      Messages:
      23
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      6
      Location:
      Sheffield uk
      Ratings:
      +6
      Thanks. Perhaps it's just me being picky with the ambilight green tint - I just find it really distracting when the screen is showing white, as the top projects a greeny hue. It seems more obvious in real life than it appears in video or pics. I can't get a setting I'm happy with, if I set the wall to a green colour then the top shows white correctly but the sides have a purple hue (as they usually show white correctly). Maybe I'm just going a bit mad!

      Although one odd thing that suggests a software problem is that using 'Ambilight & Hue' and showing a white screen, my Philips hue bulb shows white, but my Philips hue strip next to it shows the same green tint as the top. This is a strikingly obvious difference (although annoyingly not so obvious when trying to take a pic!)

      To get a white screen I cast a YouTube "white screen" video.

      They apparently have one in my local Richer Sounds so I'm going to try and get a proper demo of that, if only to convince myself that they're all the same! Any pics you have would be good though. Thanks.
       
    27. KennyM68

      KennyM68
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Nov 24, 2017
      Messages:
      28
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Chester
      Ratings:
      +0
      There appears to be a serious lack of apps for this TV, No 4 on Demand, No 5 on demand, No ITV Hub and a whole lot more that don't seem to be available. Google TV on this platform is also a bit unstable. Had a Sony Google TV prior to this and it was far superior in every way except Picture Quality. Anybody else experiencing similar issues?
       
    28. cgpav

      cgpav
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Nov 28, 2015
      Messages:
      23
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      6
      Location:
      Sheffield uk
      Ratings:
      +6
      I agree the apps are pretty poor. Quite a clunky interface too.
       
    29. 55POS9002

      55POS9002
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 25, 2017
      Messages:
      60
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      Norwich
      Ratings:
      +15
      All 4, My 5 and ITV Hub (and UKTV Play) are all available for download from the Google Play Store - are you looking in the old "Smart Apps" / legacy apps section for these by any chance?
       
    30. KennyM68

      KennyM68
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Nov 24, 2017
      Messages:
      28
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Chester
      Ratings:
      +0
      D39F51CC-69F6-4DDA-97C1-FEE8C6121622.png D39F51CC-69F6-4DDA-97C1-FEE8C6121622.png
      Not in my play store, either on my phone or via logging in on website
      Pics attached, any help would be appreciated
       

      Attached Files:

    Share This Page

    Loading...