1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips 42PF9964

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Flashman, Dec 6, 2002.

1. Flashman

Flashman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11
    I'm new to this, currently have a rather large Tosh rear proj tv which I've been very happy with, but due to two young kids could really do with freeing up some much needed space....
    I'm interested in the Philips (Robert Whyte in Glasgow are doing a good deal...) but it seems to have got poor reviews on this forum?
    I'm a little confused, all reviews except one in the High St magazines I've read have been good....
    I'm tempted by this as my better half wants something relatively simple to use (i.e. a tuner box)
    Help! I'd appreciate any views as I don't want to make a costly mistake.......

2. pixie

pixie
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Flashman,

I have a Philips 32" plasma (PF329964), and I've been extremely happy with it - had it for around 4 months now.

I'd say that it depends on what you need from your plasma screen. The picture quality from mine is really good, although if it is entirely picture quality you're after then you may be better suited to a Panny or Pioneer. I nearly went for a Panny screen, but just couldn't bear the ugly casing that it has - it certainly wouldn't have fitted in my room! It just depends on what you're priorities are. Plus the picture in picture mode is fab - halo on xbox and corrie at the same time! :)

I know that some people on the forum have experienced problems with the Philips 42", but these seem to have been with the earlier generation of the screen.