1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips 42PF9955 vs Hitachi 42DP3000

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by sean57, Aug 14, 2003.

1. sean57

sean57

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am looking to purchase a 42" plasma and want the best screen available for under ot around £3000.

The 2 screens that I currently like are the Philips 42PF9955 and the Hitachi 42DP3000

Unfortunately I have not seen these 2 screens next to each other, but was happy enough with both individually.

As I am new to this, any advise that could be given and recommendations would be gratefully received.
    Particulary interested in owners of the 2 screens and their experiences/regrets etc.

Thanks

Sean

2. chrise

chrise

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +46
    I have owned the Hitachi for 3 months and am very happy with its performance and simplicity of operation. I have no regrets about the purchase. If money had been no object I would have probably bought the MXE Pioneer but that would have added over a £1k to the bill by the time i had bought all the bits.

The Phillips was not around when I bought but I would query whether you should look out for the 9965 which has pixel plus as I think that the 9955 is an old model.

You are right you will need to see them side by side which easier said than done. Best of luck

3. Dave777

Dave777

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    AFAIK the 9955 is a screen only version of the 9965 ie no media box etc. This is a newish model. The models ending in 4 are the old ones.

HTH

Dave

4. trooper1212

trooper1212

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    I agree completely. I'm happy with the Hitachi but would have gone for the Pioneer if it had been a comparable price and the blacks on it were just that bit better.