1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips 42pf9946 SuperZoom Fault?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Alhambra, May 20, 2005.

  1. Alhambra

    Alhambra
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd be interested to hear from others who own this panel.

    SuperZoom only works when I first turn the TV on.
    If you change picture formats then return to SuperZoom, it is actually in FullScreen mode NOT SuperZoom. I have to turn the Panel off and then on again to return to SuperZoom. :oops:

    Anyone else noticed this? :confused:
     
  2. Alhambra

    Alhambra
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    <bump> Yoohoo! :hiya:

    No other Philips 42pf9946 owners out there? :lease:
     
  3. Alhambra

    Alhambra
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Update: To prove this fault just wasn't on my specific plasma I checked for this fault at an electronics store and sure enough it happened on this Plasma there too.

    I assume it is some kind of software fault?

    What I want to know is how does Philips get away with selling A BLATANTLY FAULTY TV ON THE MARKET?

    But then again, no one else has replied in this thread.

    Does this mean I'm the only FOOL who bought this plasma? :suicide:
     
  4. tujax

    tujax
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    There is some discussion about that on the following link:
    http://forum.timway.com/php/showflat.php/Cat/0/Number/3257011/an/0/page/0

    I have a philips model close to that (50pf9966) but I'm not able to reproduce the behavior you describe. Further more, I tend to use autoformat most of the time: it's really nice. Does the 9946 has this format also?

    There are a few philips owners around here, but due the nature of this forum, people that own most of the brands available out there except one or two tend to fo away.

    hasta
     
  5. Alhambra

    Alhambra
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your reply mate :smashin:

    No the 9946 doesn't have autoformat (unfortunate).

    I suspect this SuperZoom issue is a specific problem with the software on this model only (42pf9946/79).

    BTW - Just curious - can software on Plasmas be upgraded?
     
  6. tujax

    tujax
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    That depends on the model and brand. On these series of philips plasmas yes: there is a service jack on the bottom that is used to feed the new firmware, which is driven by a service menu accessed by pressing the keys 062596 i+ in sequence.

    This has to be done by authorized personal only and sometimes new firmware also requires hardware updates.
     
  7. Alhambra

    Alhambra
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great thanks for your help.

    Right now I'm trying to get in touch with Philips to see if there is a firmware upgrade available for this model. I hope there is!
     
  8. Alhambra

    Alhambra
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    UPDATE: Firmware upgrade killed the Plasma (oops! :suicide: ) so I ended up replacing this dud with a 42pf9966, but other people have bought and can continue to buy this faulty 42pf9946 model. I can't believe Philips do not withdraw this rubbish from the market.

    Anyway regarding the 9966. Static picture quality is superior, but camera pans are inferior - images blur as the camera pans over a scene. (Didn't happen on the 9946) I assume this is a side affect of Digital Natural Motion which the 9946 doesn't have? So I go to the menu to turn it off, and guess what, there is no option to turn Digital Natural Motion off! :confused:
    Selecting Movie Plus or Progressive Scan makes no difference.

    Unbelievable. :rolleyes:
     
  9. apollosys

    apollosys
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, Just bought a Phillips 42pf9946/12 and this it works fine for superzoom.
    I have to say I am happy with it so far, early days yet. :D
    Interesting to see that not all is what is seems with Panasonic, this forum would have you believing that they are so superior to everything else nothing else matters. :boring:
    Remember, Judge for yourself you'll be watching it no one else. :lesson:
     
  10. Alhambra

    Alhambra
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    apollosys, the problem was when you changed screen format and then returned to super zoom. I would have been happy with the 9946 if it wasn't for the ridiculous firmware bug. I now own the 42pf9966 and I have to say that pixel plus and digital natural motion is very overrated. It took several days for my eyes to get used to the digital processing, particulary camera pans which were just awful. Surprisngly ambilight is actually the nicest feature.
     
  11. Alhambra

    Alhambra
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    All very subjective but I looked at several Panasonic panels and wasn't impressed.
     
  12. chaddy

    chaddy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +66
    sorry to go off topic but can anyone confirm that the 42pf9946 accepts a signal for a dvd through the vga ?
     
  13. apollosys

    apollosys
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alhambra,
    I have tried to recreate the problem you were having with superzoom but cannot. Maybe Phillips have completed an update with the model I have 9946/12?
    The only annoying thing so far is that this model has autoformat which changes with the input signal. So when NTL is running it can change from superzoom to fullscreen or back to 14:9 depending on signal
    Hope this helps.
     
  14. Alhambra

    Alhambra
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the 9946/70 which didn't have autoformat and had component connections instead of scart and therefore probably different firmware.

    But anyway, I own the 9966 now.
     
  15. chaddy

    chaddy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +66
    can anyone confirm that the vga socket can take a vga dvd player signal.
    I don't want hi-def just that i've read that this plasma has prog scan ! how is this if it has no component, so was wondering if vga would be better then scart or component to vga. will be getting the plasma on monday so i can't find out myself.
     
  16. Alhambra

    Alhambra
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    CHADDY my 42pf9946/79 had a VGA socket, a HDMI socket, and component input but no scart.

    See bottom of page 5 of the link below which shows the rear connections.
    http://www.p4c.philips.com/files/4/42pf9946_79/42pf9946_79_dfu_eng.pdf
     
  17. chaddy

    chaddy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +66
    i know my girlfriends will not,think its cos yours it the /79 model where mine is the 42pf9946 or 42pp9946. my mate has the same one and all it has it 2 scarts av1 is RGB & composite & VGA.
    I've noticed that in the instruction manual mine dosn't say VGA y/pb/pr.
    I think its just standard VGA.
    but if anyone can confirm ?
     
  18. chaddy

    chaddy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +66
    mine is the 42pf9946/12
     

Share This Page

Loading...