1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips 36PW9607

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Vonsprockett, Jun 3, 2003.

  1. Vonsprockett

    Vonsprockett
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North West
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all.

    Have just purchased a 36PW9607 and have a couple of questions.

    1) Noticed that when viewing sky channels that the tops of the program logo's are missing. Also when you go into the TV guide the top of the menu icons are also missing. The sky box is set to 16.9 and not 4.3 and the TV is set to 16.9. Is there a setting where I can tweak this to get the whole picture?

    2) Noticed that when in the Sky TV guide menu the whole picture slants down to the right. If you measure the thickness of the bottom dark blue background bar it is 7mm shorter on the right of the screen than the left. Is the the sky calibration or my TV ? cant really tell when watching a film.

    3) As the Sky menu is static I can see all these faults and have also noticed that the picture jitters to the lest and back by a couple of mill if you watch carefully, is the the TV or SKY ?

    I suppose I should go and stick a DVD on and put it on freeze frame to see if there is any movement to prove the last point either way. What do you think.

    Any help greatly appreciated.

    By the way picked the set up for £1388.00 + £34.00 delivery.
     
  2. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    1. The TV might be in"subtitle" mode try pressing the down arrow on the remote.

    2. There is a rotation option in the menu that will fix this... can't remember where not near tv now. It's in the manual.

    3. Hard to say... probably the TV being affected by local magnetic interference. The TV itself has a "freeze" button on the remote. Again check the manual I'm sorry I'm not near the TV.

    Also try
    my settings ;)
     
  3. Vonsprockett

    Vonsprockett
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North West
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ta,

    Have found the tilt option in setup, now looks fine.

    By the way, my pioneer home cinema system (XV-DV55), does
    not have a scart output on it, so I am running S-Video directly
    to the side of the TV with a good quality cable, does that sound ok?:clown:
     
  4. Vonsprockett

    Vonsprockett
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North West
    Ratings:
    +0
    As a matter of interest anyone out there got a
    Phillips 36PW9607 TV with a Pioneer NS-DV55 home cinema system ?
     
  5. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    As you don't have RGB out, S-Video is the next best option. If you don't like having a cable in the side remember that EXT2?(might be EXT1) can carry S-video via SCART. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...