1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips 32PW9617 - What Scart Leads?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by swilks, Aug 14, 2002.

1. swilks

swilks
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Before I start, I'm totally new to all this sort of stuff so feel free to explain in as much detail as you want!

A week ago I received my Philips 32PW9617 from Comet Direct but with no stand :mad: but a saving of £320 over their store price :) The stand arrives on Saturday so I was after some advice on what cables to buy to connect all the equipment together.

I have a Panasonic NV-HD625 video recorder and a Panasonic TU-DSB30 Sky digibox. Both have two scart sockets and both the manuals talk about the sockets being RGB.

I've read the manual for the 32PW9617 and this seems to recommend using EXT1 for a DVD player as this has the additional output for Dolby Digital. Does it matter which other EXT sockets I use for the video or digibox?

Is it worth getting quality scart cables to connect the Video <-> TV, Video <-> Digibox and Digibox <-> TV or doesn't it matter for some of the connections? I got the standard scart cable when the digibox was installed so I don't know whether it's worth replacing that or using that in one of the connections.

I've read on the forum that the IXOS 126AV or 141AV are the scart cables to go for. I take it that these cables are fully wired and are suitable for RGB? Is there any difference between them apart from one is flat? The cheapest price I've found for them so far is £34.99.

Finally, I also read on here that "rct" replaced the cable connecting the two rear speakers with some Gale XL189. Is the cable supplied that bad and would I honestly be able to hear the difference with this Gale cable?