1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

philips 32pf9986

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by philips, Sep 6, 2004.

  1. philips

    philips
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone purchased this set? Any views?

    Am especially interested in what you think about image lag, graininess and lack of components.

    It is either this, the sony mrx1 or stick with my large pixel plus crt.
     
  2. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    Search the forum and you will find lots about this set. It does have component input. If you have not already done so, I would also consider the Sharp Titanium range (LC-32GD1E/GA3E or GA4E) especially if you intend to connect to a PC since the Sharp boxes support native 1366x768@60 via DVI unlike the Philips - Sony has no DVI.

    -Ian
     
  3. jackylad

    jackylad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you know someone who has tried to 'force' the philips screens to display a PC input at the native resolution (1366x768) ?? As some of the LG screens will even though they don't mention it in the manuals. And as LG is Philips I'm hoping they'll do the same.
     
  4. mike-p

    mike-p
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's my question as well, the original Philips tech spec listed WXGA (1280x768) as a supported resolution, but Philips now claim the TV will only support XGA.

    If the screen is capable of displaying 1366x768 why can't it display it in PC mode?

    Has anyone tried it?
     
  5. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    previous generations didn't list 1280x768 as a legit resolution, but it was achieved with powerstrip. Maybe these new ones are the same?

    Maybe philips couldn't get it working properly with normal PCs out of the box, therefore removed it from the spec list rather than get inundated with customer queries and telling them they have to use 3rd party software to get it working?
     
  6. jackylad

    jackylad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right guys I've ordered a 37PF9986 today, should arrive in two weeks.

    I'll try out powerstrip to see if will produce a resolution of 1366 x 768 or whatever and post the results.

    If there is anything else I can try out for you lot that I have the ability (or hardware) to do, just ask!
     
  7. mike-p

    mike-p
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Guys

    If my PC will support 1280x768 or 1366x768 will I still need powerstrip?

    Philips are being less than helpful with this issue, maybe they have filed it under "Too Hard".

    Cheers
    Mike
     
  8. jackylad

    jackylad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, you're right. All I got when I asked about the PC using a native res was,

    "Erm.. we cannot comment on that"

    so you don't know then ;)

    They should forward support queries to avforums as people on here know much more than they do!!!!

    Idiots!
     
  9. philips

    philips
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    can anyone answer my original question - is this set any good - especially regarding the level of graininess that so many LCD's seem to suffer from
     
  10. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    mine is fantastic (30pf9975), and the new one should be even better.

    No issues with 'graininess', other than what your Sky or analogue channels produce. DVD is great.
     
  11. Up The Spurs!

    Up The Spurs!
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No graininess at all...Fantastic picture
     
  12. Up The Spurs!

    Up The Spurs!
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No graininess at all...Fantastic picture
     
  13. jackylad

    jackylad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got word that Philips have sold out of the 37PF9986 LCD TV's, not sure about the 32" version mind!

    What a bummer, you wait for months then they don't manufacture enough of them! :thumbsdow and sell out!!!!

    Ah well they reckon end of Sept as long as you have you're order in for it.

    I think the managment from car manufacturers and sofa companys have all moved to work for Philips and now they only make them to order. :) I'm glad I'm not hanging from my :censored: as long as I've waited for this screen!

    By the way if anyones thinking of buying one through an online retailer, BE Direct have been excellent! Would highly recommend them, and no I don't know anyone there before you all start thinking there's a rabbit away.
     
  14. neiljones

    neiljones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    northwest
    Ratings:
    +13
    I have patiently waited to identify any website or retailer having these sets to purchase or view.
    It is now said they Philips have sold out- could you be more specific with your information as to who has had these sets.
    NJ
     
  15. jackylad

    jackylad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I spoke to Philips customer support yesterday after putting in an order for the 37" version of this screen with BE Direct. Basically, BE Direct came back to me to say that Philips have none left until the end of September as they have sold out of the 37" version (not sure about the 42"!!!).

    Philips and BE Direct recommended that I leave my pre order in place as by the end of September they may well sell out again and it will help (fingers crossed) to ensure I get one out of that batch (or whatever).

    It's crazy that Philips have sold out already having their customer services dept say to me the other week that it was launching end of August. So one week later they've got none left eh! If they had so many pre-orders why didn't they make more for people who see them advertised all over the place and want to buy one. Not every consumer reads months of pre-launch reviews and the like on forums and in industry mags.

    So the Ad in this months Stuff Mag says:

    "We're proud... again!"

    Blah blah blah, 37PF9986 has won the European LCD TV of the year award.

    Shame you can't buy one eh!
     
  16. Eyeball

    Eyeball
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a set, 32PF9986...but not selling it to you lot...lol :rotfl:
    Waited too long and placed my order well before they came out...a bit risky but now all worth it.

    The only thing I'm having a problem with is trying to locate a cable, component to DVI-I for linking up a xs32 DVD recorder and it seems to be very scarce.

    I'm very happy with it....no graininess. The only negative thing (apart from no component but achievable via this cable I'm talking 'bout) that was reviewed and I agree with now...is the sound. The speakers do this TV no justice, but all you really need is a sub to connect to the dedicated sub output or an amp and it's great. Works fine with my BK.
    Watched Volcano yesterday and it sounded awesome. :clap:

    P.S Prolly a stupid question as I'm almost sure it does but just in case...does the 9986 accept progressive scan signals...?

    S
     
  17. Up The Spurs!

    Up The Spurs!
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Eyeball, Have you managed to use your remote to control other devices that aren't Philips? Thats my only prob!!
     
  18. Eyeball

    Eyeball
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, I haven't TBH but, then again I don't know how I would even begin setting it up. If you guys can tell me how to test this, I'll give it a shot. Failing that I'll try doing so when I get home by :rtfm: .

    I note the graininess messages that are popping through and here are my thoughts:

    I watched Mr. Deeds yesterday and noticed that there was some graininess, especially on the blacks. But having said that, I'm watching it through a crappy DVD player (xs32 on order) which is connected to TV via a crappy scart cable.

    Once I get all the equipment together I will have to let you know further details concerning this.

    So....does anyone here know if the TV accepts prog scan.....?? :lease:

    Thanks,
    Stelio
     
  19. Alan D

    Alan D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  20. Eyeball

    Eyeball
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Checked my manual today :clown: , and the remote only seems to work with Philips hardware.....but then again you can always purchase one of those learning remotes, which will probably be my case.

    But I agree...after spending so much cash you should at least get a remote that works with other stuff too.

    Oh well.....

    If anyone here has a 9986 and has got a good picture, could they please post their settings so I can compare to mine. Just to see the difference.

    Cheers,
    S
     
  21. chunkymunky

    chunkymunky
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Instaed of connecting from component to DVI-I directly, have you tried using a component to VGA lead to the TV via the supplied converter? I've found a couple of high quality leads on www.beststuff.co.uk/specialist_rgb_leads.htm but am unsure as ti whether or not I'd be left with black bars on each side of the picture (I did when playing films directly from my PC). Can somebody confirm before I purchase one of these cables?
     
  22. jonf

    jonf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm thinking of getting the 32pf9986 but have a few questions.....
    I am running sky+. wil the lcd auto set the screen size from widescreen to 'standard'? I want to put it on the wall - will I need to 'get someone in' or can I do it on my own? can you hide the scart and power cables away? I have two scart to attach (sky+ and dvd)
    thanks!
     
  23. Eyeball

    Eyeball
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    JonF,

    Judging by where the connection inputs are located on the TV you will have to find a way to hide the cables. I cannot tell you for sure how it will look on the wall or how it's done as I got a stand for mine.

    I think you'll be okay doing it yourself if you have a spot of DIY experience.

    Cheers,
    S
     
  24. jonf

    jonf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Eyeball,

    thanks. does it deal with auto switch of picture size?

    Jonf
     
  25. chunkymunky

    chunkymunky
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My 32PF9986 is wall mounted and it is was a very simple job using the supplied bracket which keeps the set tight against the wall. For the short term I have used some plastic conduit from B&Q to hide the Scart and Power Cables and it looks fine. However I am having some building work done soon and will cut a channel in the plaster to house the cables will probably still use conduit and then skim over. Cannot recommend enough the need for quality cables, as I need 5M scart leads I bought the first couple from Ebay for a fiver each and the picture quality was poor. I later bought an IXOS scart fromTVcables.co.uk for under £30 and phew what a difference!

    As for the auto formatting, for me it is the best TV I've ever had for this although somepeople might find the constant adjustments offputting. The only time I need to manually intervene is when I watch DivX movies that I've downloaded. If you do buy this set you won't be disappointed it is fantastic providing your interconnects are up to scratch. (Don't forget also that you will receive a component to DVI-I cable with your TV with which you can hook up your DVD player and get even better pictures (allegedly)!!
     
  26. neiljones

    neiljones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    northwest
    Ratings:
    +13
    If you go on the Vogel site you will see a selection of top quality wall mounted brackets-tilt and turn, but very expensice. Top quality product.

    Once their bracket is wall mounted thety also sell wall mounted plastic cable covers into which you could hide 4 or 5 scart cables. They are about 6" in height and about 2" depth and width.
    Not cheap-sold in large Curry's-but nicely made. Easy access is also gained by removing the cover from the wall mounted back plate.
    NJ
     
  27. jonf

    jonf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks all. The 32pf9986 was purchased today - arrives next week - and I'll sort a better cable. I have previously goen for the cheaper ones - a false economy! :laugh:
     
  28. jonf

    jonf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Has anyone got the code so I can control the pf9986 with my sky+ controller?
     
  29. adtadt

    adtadt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you want a long read look at my post 'Why I "Gave Up" On Philips 32PF9986'. This also covers a major fault, almost a complete line of black pixels, but the poor contrast was enough of a reason to return. These new "best of" LCDs don't quite make it for me - be warned when viewing in typical showrooms - I'm back with my Philips CRT Pixel Plus 1..
     
  30. jonf

    jonf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I did read your long posting. You seem to be at odds with everyone else in here plus numerous magazine articles. How come everyone else gives it a great rating and it gets 5/5 stars?
     

Share This Page

Loading...