Philips 32PF9986 and Xbox360 and HD

Discussion in 'Philips TVs Forum' started by bobfrank, Mar 15, 2006.

Tags:
  1. bobfrank

    bobfrank
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I hope this is in the right place

    I've got a Philips 32PF9986 bought about 6 months ago. I've upgraded it to firmware 2.5 last week (by Philips:clap: ). I have an XBOX360 and want to use the DVI input to display games etc in 1080i or 720p.
    Output through the composite output and the Scart adaptor gives me a perfectly OK picture.
    Switching to the X360 HD setting and using the component RGB leads and the Philips component to DVI adaptor gives me a picture but a terrible one. I do have the leads in the right holes. It is very washed out and seems to be made only of pale pinks and lilacs. 480, 720 and 1080 have the same colours but 720 is also a broken up round the edges. Not exactly right.

    So it is the TV, The Xbox or the cables. Anybody else seen this? Connecting a laptop to the DVI connector gives me XGA fine with no colour problems - but that's a VGA signal not an RGB component (? is there a diff? its a 15 pin connector not a 6 wire one).

    Just wondering if anyone has a theory - I'm currently looking for a TV I can borrow with component inputs...

    Any comments?
    thanks
    bf
     
  2. gerryman62

    gerryman62
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +69
    hi dont no answer to ur prob but could u post link to software 2.5 please thanks
     
  3. Phill_1981

    Phill_1981
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Woking, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +44
    you can't install it your self, the TV needs to be sent off to Philips Service Center
     
  4. bobfrank

    bobfrank
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Phil's right - in my case the authorised engineer guy came round and did it at my home - took about an hour.

    I'm gonna borrow a different cable and see if that's the issue. TV does seem a bit "quicker" than with my old firmware.

    cheers
     
  5. Phill_1981

    Phill_1981
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Woking, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +44
    I hope they upgrade mine while they have it. Should get it back today! It's been with the service center for a few weeks having the uneven backlights fixed.
     
  6. Phill_1981

    Phill_1981
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Woking, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +44
    grrr, they had my screen 3 weeks and they didn't even update the firmware and the original problem is still there :mad:
     
  7. bobfrank

    bobfrank
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Shame. WHat next?
    I borrowed a cable and that means the cables are fine as the problem is still there - now I need another Xbox or a different RGB HD source...
     
  8. conect

    conect
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi just wondering what problems you were having to get the firmware updated would like to get mine done
    ps. when viewing anything through my dvi connection the picture looks washed out and poor used a pc and samsung dvd950 with HDMI was very disapointed
    please let us all now if you find an answer
    regards
    conect
     
  9. bobfrank

    bobfrank
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wanted to use the dvi connector for prog scan from my Xbox360. I had v1.2 or something and got nothing at all via that connector - after firmware upgrade a PC connected there looks OK - but a bit fuzzy (VGA not DVI) and my Xbox looks like a pastel purple mess. I think it is the TV...
    In general firmware is a if it ain't broke don't fix it thing - mine was broke!
     
  10. bobfrank

    bobfrank
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to update this - they repair people came round yesterday and took my 9986 off for surgery - 10 working days minimum they say....
     
  11. SuperSaiyan4

    SuperSaiyan4
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +49
    Are you using Component? If not then try that, however I have heard from many that using a VGA cable instead gives a better picture but then again depends on your setup as well.

    However after trying the above and if you still get a bad picture I would get the tele looked at.
     
  12. Phill_1981

    Phill_1981
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Woking, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +44
    good luck, they had mine for 3 weeks and 'my' problem is still there :mad:
     
  13. bobfrank

    bobfrank
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, it's back. They replaced 2 circuit boards. Am I pleased? Sorta...
    The problem isn't 100% over and I think I have a new one.
    If I use the 360 through DVI and then back to scart for TV returning to DVI gets me a similar (but readable) trashed pink/green sync-killed mess, readable enough for me to go into the 360 settings though - and if I go 1080i->720p->1080i I get the picture right again. I didn't need to do this on the loaner they gave me.
    And I think the colours are all a bit washed out but that may be subjective...
    Hmm - not sure what to do now.
     
  14. Phill_1981

    Phill_1981
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Woking, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +44
    I am thinking about writing to Philips and demanding a new TV to be honest. There is no way I want to send my TV back to them for another 3 weeks if they cant sort my problem. Maybe you should do the same? Or ask for a newer version.
     
  15. bobfrank

    bobfrank
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey ho - it just wasn't right so it is back to Philips again - my garuantee runs out nxt month so I thought it a good idea to have one last try... :thumbsdow:
     
  16. Phill_1981

    Phill_1981
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Woking, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +44
    if they haven't fixed it before it runs out it shouldn't matter as it's an ongoing problem reported before the warrenty expired.
     

Share This Page

Loading...