1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips 32PF9830 - Graphics Card Advice

Discussion in 'Philips TVs Forum' started by digitaldr, May 23, 2005.

Tags:
  1. digitaldr

    digitaldr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm seriously considering pre-ordering a philips 32PF9830. Philips have told me that'll it'll support the following resolutions:

    [​IMG]

    I presume this means that if I get a video card that supports 1366 x 768 I'll be able to get a full screen picture with 1:1 pixel mapping over DVI? I assume that if this is the case that I could watch a DVD over DVI from my PC and it'd fill the screen? If so what graphics card would be best? I'm new to all this - I believe that I might have to use a program called powerstrip?

    I'm living in Dublin and would be ordering from a UK site (much cheaper than here even with shipping). So if the screen didn't do the above returning it could be expensive. Maybe I'd be better to wait or maybe I could pre-order and get the supplier to check?

    I'd probably be doing some gaming but wouldn't want to spend a fortune on a graphics card. Ideally it would be capable of being passively cooled to keep noise down and it must have a DVI connection.

    Could someone explain what the video format resolution - would the screen downscale some of the higher ones?

    Sorry about all the questions! :)
     
  2. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    You've pretty much got all the questions answered yourself! Most of the new graphics cards should be able to output the desired resolution. Fanless cards are available, but this is not my field of expertise....Powerstrip could help you if you need it.

    The TV will downscale oversized resolutions.

    Jimmy
     
  3. Rob1698

    Rob1698
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The ability to display at a certain resolution is determined by the operating system and video driver, not as much by the graphic card.
    So you should determine if you have a versatile system, driver and possibly special setup program like powerstrip.
    I have seen people claim that nVidia cards would be not suitable, but I have an nVidia FX-5200 based card output all resolutions my TV can accept, including 720p and 1080i, without problem.
    I use Linux and cannot advise you about Windows, but the hardware certainly can do it.
     
  4. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    Mines an FX5200 too and it does 1280x768 very nicely. Won't do 1366x768 tho.

    Jimmy
     
  5. digitaldr

    digitaldr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Are you using windows jimsan?
     
  6. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...