1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips 30PF9975 and DVI compatablity?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by sefton, Sep 27, 2004.

1. sefton

sefton

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im in the process of hooking all my equipment together and I read that my Philips 30PF9975 has a DIV-d input.

Is this connection just for PC's or can I connect a DVD player with HDMI output to my LCD? Is this the best set up? Or should I use component or scart. I've also heard of the new QED scarts which just transmit video as opposed to audio. Would this really give better results than a normal scart?

Sorry for all the daft questions but Im new to all this and my terminology might not be 100% correct :blush: but I'm on a steep learning curve.

Cheers!

2. KraGorn

KraGorn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    HDMI players will indeed connect to DVI-D.

There are two basic types of DVI socket, DVI-D is digital (D) and DVI-I which is DVI-D plus RGB analog. HDMI is a digital interface so only uses the DVI-D part of the DVI-I connection if you connect it to a DVI-I device. Note that a DVI-D cable DOES plug in to a DVI-I socket, just not all pins are present on the plug.

HDMI is a copy-protection protocol and some players won't allow connection if the other end isn't also HDMI. Whether your display is acceptable depends on it being HDCP compliant, basically DVI-D + HDCP = HDMI, though be warned, some early DVI(HDCP) displays weren't recognised by some HDMI-equipped DVD players .. I'm not sure if that sort of silliness is still a problem or not.

For more info on DVI/HDCP/HDMI take a look here