1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips 28PW6006 - RGB Ghosting Problems

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Popgin, Apr 23, 2002.

1. Popgin

Popgin

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Finally took delivery of my shiny new 6006 today, and i love it - but i have one small prob.

If I fire up my dvd player, i get a small amount of ghosting - in the form of very faint, inch thick vertical bars passing across the picture. Now, i'm no expert, but through a system of elimination it's become clear that this is due to some interference from the set's tuner - if i switch to the Ext from a dead channel of static, the bars are replaced with faint echos of said static instead - the same result if i disconnect the arial.

I've disconnected the infamous 19th pin in my scart lead - but to no avail.

Basically - what i want is a completely empty "dead channel" to switch to the ext mode from - one empty of any signal information (rather than the static dancing of, say channel 67 or whatever) - the blank screens that some sets display if they can't get a clear signal.

BUT, try as i might, i can't find a mode on this set to get one.

Any ideas?

2. Wayne Moule

Wayne Moule

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +32
    I have the 32in 6006 model.

I get this to some degree in RGB with both my Sony 725 DVD player and my NTL Pace digital box.

The picture from my Sony DVD is very dark when compared to my Pace box,which is very odd.I've since changed my DVD output to S-Video and it is now excellent,both sharp,bright and without any inch wide bands at the very far sides,much better than I thought and have seen S-Video before.

I am in the process of watching NTL digital with just the composite output.This reduces the bands on both sides quite a bit and completely on the right hand side,especially in darker scenes.