Philips 26PF5521

Discussion in 'Philips TVs Forum' started by simonph, Aug 7, 2006.

Tags:
  1. simonph

    simonph
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Just got a Philips 26PF5521D LCD screen and hooked it up. Just wondered if somebody out there in the know could put my mind at ease over a couple of things...
    Firstly, the pictures from the built in freeview tuner are quite pixelated. The signal strength bar is showing over two thirds full.
    Secondly, I've noticed that the picture seems to be continually adjusting brightness. This usually happen a half second after every shot change..
    Are these things normal? Sorry if this is all old hat.

    Thanks in advance,
    Simon
     
  2. Barrovian

    Barrovian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,307
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    United Britain of Great Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +238
    Picture brightening sounds like you've got Active Control or Noise reduction switched on. Go through the menu options and switch them off. That should make a difference, and may help with the pixellated picture. DNR seems to mainly help with analogue signals as far as I can see.
     
  3. simonph

    simonph
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    :) Nice one.. Will give it a go tonight.
     
  4. simonph

    simonph
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, finally got round to having a play with the new TV. Seems it will only let me turn the Active Control off whilst in analog.. When I press the Active Control button whilst in digital it does nothing.. Anybody have a clue??
     
  5. sopheric

    sopheric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I have the same issue with the brigthness changing just a touch depending of the type of image. It's more noticeable when watching a DVD (connected via SCART) specially in the case of dark interior scenes. It doesn´t matter if I have active control turned on or off, and the noise reduction doesn´t make any difference either. I've also tried using a "Smart Picture" mode and a "Customised" mode, same effect. Any ideas? My TV software revision is ldtvZapper_HW260-256_SW2.0.41

    Thanks in advance!
     
  6. simonph

    simonph
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Emailed Philips and this is what they replied with...

    "Thank you for your recent e-mail.

    With regards to your query we can advise that it is not possible to
    switch off Active Control on the digital side of the TV.

    When the TV is in digital mode - You may have a slight reduction in
    features available.

    We trust that the information provided will be of assistance."

    :mad:
     
  7. sopheric

    sopheric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Simon, in my case I have not received yet a reply from Philips Spain... Unfortunately, I've got a feeling that the brightness/contrast adjustment change is just "the way it is"; have a look to the comment posted on this link (end of paragraph 4): "If there is a niggle, it would be that the TV ever so slightly adjusts the picture brightness depending on the scene. It's a minor point, but there nonetheless.". Comment available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/cdp/memb...f=cm_aya_rev_more/202-7890843-7484618?ie=UTF8 Maybe a future firmware revision may improve things? Pigs may fly...
     
  8. simonph

    simonph
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah i was hoping that one day they would come out with some kind of software update but i should probably just learn to ignore the active control thing. i noticed that you can't turn the AC off on EXT4 and the HDMI sockets too so that might influence my decision whether or not to get an xbox :(
     
  9. scott26985

    scott26985
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am thinking of buying this tv.......so does this mean its s**t?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice