1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips 21PT4457 21" - Picture slanted.

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Asghar, Jul 14, 2002.

1. Asghar

Asghar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone.

I am new to this great forum which I came across a few days ago and I hope that someone could put my mind at test.

I purchased a 21" Philips 21PT4457 from Empire Direct 10 days ago with which I seem to have 2 problems. The first is that the picture has a definate slant, the picture is slightly higher on the left hand side which is noticable when the picture does not fill the entire screen and when viewing Widescreen. I notice it all the time and it spoils my viewing.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Is it me or is this acceptable for a new TV. After contacting Empire Direct, an engineer came and had a look and informed me that it was acceptable. Contacted Empire Direct again and they collected the TV and returned it saying that there was not a fault.

Also the RGB Scart is very dark when connected to my PAL GameCube. NTL Digital connected to the same scart is perfect. It's seems a shame that I cannot play my GameCube on the TV. The AV input is nowhere as good a RGB.:(

2. squid

squid
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not half as bad as mine .My 32" toshiba is around a quarter inch higher on one side . Tosh said it was fine

I just wish i had tilt control . Are you sure you don't I know a hell of a lot of phillips tvs do

3. Asghar

Asghar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have checked the manual and on screen display, there is no tilt control and from what you said it seems there is no point writing direct to Philips either about the slant. Tv's should have more picture control options like monitors have.

Is there anything I can do about the dark RGB scart image?