1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

philips 17PF9946 - how can i get high definition on the xbox with this TV?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by alex05, Jul 31, 2005.

  1. alex05

    alex05
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a complete idiot when it comes to HDTV and all this stuff goes right over my head. :confused:

    To start: i've just bought this tv - http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00061QSHC/ref=br_ce_ts_3//202-9177142-3427064

    and i was wondering how to get the high def options appear for the xbox (what cables and such i'll need)?

    The tv's only HD-ready so wil i need a tuner and such (i'm not bothered about high def for tv and i dont have sky or freeview if this helps...)

    If you need anymore details, say so and i'll give them. ;)

    Please help a HD idiot :lease:

    BTW i live in the UK (england to be precise)
     
  2. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,044
    Does it have component inputs that support 480p or higher?

    A standard UK Xbox won't support Hidef without modifying it. Then you need the Hidef cables from Microsoft. Even then its not guaranteed to work, as UK xboxes weren't designed for hidef, so the output might not be good enough for HD. (mine isn't)

    the xbox 360 that should be hidef out of the box, so might be worth trading up for that, considering the potential cost of the HD cables and chipping your xbox (you can soft-mod but its a bit of a PITA)
     
  3. alex05

    alex05
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,044
    what are you using now? If you are using reasonable SCART RGB cables, then thats pretty much your best option for xbox1.

    If you are using RF, or composite, then you can get a big improvement by using an RGB SCART lead like the ones shown (don't spend too much on them though, they are much the same as each other)
     
  5. alex05

    alex05
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using the ones that came with the xbox (composite i think) so i think i'll get them.

    Thaks clearing the HD thing up anyways :smashin:
     
  6. destix

    destix
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    A UK xbox will work perfectly in 420p/720p
    however you do need to install a modchip or softmod to allow you to switch the video output to NTSC
    you will also need a component cable
    This is the one i bought http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/tvcables/XPX04.html
    Excellent quality cable
    oh and i should point out , all you games need to be the USA version or they will only play in standard def :)
     
  7. Goooner

    Goooner
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    35,557
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +13,980
    What if you want 5.1 though? Is there a cable you can get with an optical or co-axial rather than the L/R phonos?
     
  8. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +763
    My XBox RGB SCART cable has a Toslink optical socket on the back of the XBox AV connector for digital audio output.
     
  9. amorenod

    amorenod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    No, 99% of the pal xbox games work in prog scan in a modded xbox, including 720p marvels like Amped 2 and Soul Calibur 2.
     
  10. Goooner

    Goooner
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    35,557
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +13,980
    Mine too, I was thinking about the Hi-Def cable, not the RGB one.
     
  11. amorenod

    amorenod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
  12. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +763
    Ah - that wasn't clear from your post. However I would expect the RGB SCART and YPrPb component cables to be similar (one Europe-centric, one US-centric) - and so the Component cable might also come with optical output...
     

Share This Page

Loading...