PHD8 on its way - PW6 Blinked out

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by dgharwood, Mar 23, 2006.

  1. dgharwood

    dgharwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Swansea
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have just read some information that states the PHD range will be better than the PX60/PX600 and typical Vierra range.

    I hope this is true - as I have just ordered a TH-42PHD8UK from av-sales.co.uk to replace my old PW6 which has 7-blinked out.

    I know I should be getting excited about the new TV, but I am actually not that excited as the PW6 has such a good picture, even with its lower resolution, and I am not expecting that much more from the PHD8.

    We shall see tomorrow.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    are you not interested in having the 6 repaired? if its a PSU fault it should be done FOC as panny had a batch of dodgy PSU's but see mep comments as he has a PW7 and PHD8
     
  3. dgharwood

    dgharwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Swansea
    Ratings:
    +6
    I am going to look into getting it repaired - but depending on cost it may be throwing good money after bad. I was going to wait until September before looking at true hi-def - so this fault has just moved it forward.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    does Free of charge not help? you have to hassle panny and yor local repair agent "Quinns" arent that brilliant but a PSU (if thats the fault) is a quick and simple repair I suggest your drop it of at a local repairer for an estimate if they say PSU then go down the route of FOC repalcement (depends on age and serial number etc)
     
  5. dgharwood

    dgharwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Swansea
    Ratings:
    +6
    If its worth repairing, I will just move the SD plasma to the bedroom.
     
  6. dgharwood

    dgharwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Swansea
    Ratings:
    +6
    PS. Are you in Swansea too, noting your location is the dark underbelly of humanity?
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    not quite that far west ;)
     
  8. anakin373

    anakin373
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    any chance of a link to the info or source?
     
  9. dgharwood

    dgharwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Swansea
    Ratings:
    +6
    There is a lot of stuff on the forums about it. I will be collating it at some point.
     

Share This Page

Loading...