1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PHD7 and SKY+

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Smokeycat, Nov 28, 2004.

  1. Smokeycat

    Smokeycat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have sky+ and I was wondering if I got a Panasonic PHD7 instead of a PWD6 would this improve the quality of the SKY+ images or would it just be the same?

    Also which is best way to connect SKY+ (through the amp/dvd or straight to the plasma)?

    I have a Denon DHT-500SD all-in-one system.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    direct to screen via RGB>VGA box or for the very best via an Iscan HD or Lumagen processor Cicra £1000 Scaler worth the money for a PHD7 JS box is a very reliable and high quality connection
     
  3. Smokeycat

    Smokeycat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Panasonic PHD7 instead of a PWD6 would this improve the quality of the SKY+ images or would it just be the same?
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    would have to see for yourself mate but PHD7 is a very very nice screen
     
  5. Angelis

    Angelis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Better than pioneer XDE? As I'm deciding between that and the PHD7.
     
  6. Todda

    Todda
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should really be comparing the Pioneer MXE1 with the Panasonic PHD7 as they are both plasma dispalys.

    The XDE is a plasma television.

    As I understand it, both displays are capable of producing a better picture than the XDE.
     
  7. Ivon

    Ivon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    HD...quick question regards the scaler.
    The background...will have the Sky+, XBox, and DVD going into the Yamaha 750...and the yamha connected to the screen via componenet.
    When does the Scaler come in. After the Amp- before the screen or before the amp ??

    I hope i am making sense ? :confused:
     
  8. NikB

    NikB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +10
    I think you would ideally not run through the amp at all if you have an external scaler. This gives a cleaner signal to the scaler and therefore better PQ. They have plenty of inputs into them so connecting all those sources shouldn't be an issue.
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    all sources direct to scaler (acts as Video hub) and then to panel with something like the Iscan HD you run audio to the scaler too and then on to amp (gives delays for Lip sync on digital sources)
     
  10. Ivon

    Ivon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    not see that model but the pannys internal scaler is probably as god (PHD7) the entry level Lumagen £800 ish and Iscan HD £900 or there is the Iscan Ultra £500 ish which is not a "true" scaler but a hub with conversion big advantages of the Iscan HD are the RGBS connection and audio dealy
     
  12. Ivon

    Ivon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK...so you reckon the HD7 would already have the basic kit onboard..and that would make the image max kind of redundant.

    Point noted regarding the RGB and the lup Sync...but would the JS Box not take care of the RGB connectivity and the Yamaha 750 the lip syncing ??
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    kind of but you loose the functionality of the system the Iscan takes RGB without spending £150 on a converter and will output as DVi (RGBHV out of JS box) delay is for digital inputs..... and gives a one box solution that has far more options settings than the AMP + JS combination
     
  14. toby_smith

    toby_smith
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    This weekend I've got configured my system which is:

    HD7
    Denon 2910
    Denon 2805
    Sky+
    Mordaunt Short Genies

    I've got Denon DVD to Amp via component
    I've got Sky+ going via Scart to JS YUV convertor and then via component to Amp with sound via optical cable to Amp.

    PQ on HD7 for DVD and Sky+ is excellent!!! :clap: :clap: :clap: Even Footy on Sky which is one of the often berated programs was brilliant yesterday with Liverpool vs Arsenal being very clear, no problems with fast moving action etc.

    Really pleased with MS Genies as well - sound from suitable 5.1 sources on Sky and of course DVD is awsome e.g. Terminator 3 - hold onto your seat!

    I could go on.....
     
  15. viewer

    viewer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    EXCELLECT - AT LAST - JUST THE SETUP I'VE BEEN CONSIDERING. Assume your happy

    Assume you've got component from amp to PHD7
     
  16. toby_smith

    toby_smith
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Viewer - yes I am very happy thanks! :thumbsup:

    ...and yes, it is component from Amp to HD7.
     
  17. holtehero

    holtehero
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,775
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +1,771
    this is useful to know as i have a virtually identical setup and am looking at this plasma as well as Pioneer 435XDE

    Denon 2910
    Denon 2803
    Sky+

    got a couple of questions for you:

    1. Have you hooked up a games console at all?
    2. Also, as the 2910 has a HDMI connection aren't you tempted to use this connection for the DVD to the plasma, or is it due to the availability/cost of the HDMI interface?

    Also if you don't mind me asking, how much did the PHD7 cost?

    Thanks in advance

    HH
     
  18. toby_smith

    toby_smith
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Holtehero,

    1) I haven't hooked up a games console as I've not got one.
    2) For cabling reasons I particularly wanted a single connection to the plasma, and so went for a single component from amp to panel. I'd read lots about HDMI etc. and hadn't seen anything to convince me before purchasing. Total cost was of course also a factor. Now I've had the component based system, I can see nothing to change my mind. Perhaps more fussy people may be able to pick fault with my PQ, but I don't know how and as far as I'm concerned I'm happy with what I've got.

    As for cost, I paid the price displayed on the AV-Sales site for the HD7.
     

Share This Page

Loading...