Period Accurate Hi-Fi Set-Ups

English Invader

Established Member
Reaction score
Is there anyone else here who is fascinated with the idea of playing music from the 60s/70s with equipment from those periods? The intrigue isn't to have the best sound fidelity but to hear Abbey Road or Hunky Dory as it would have sounded on the equipment you would have had if you had bought a day one pressing back in 1969 or 1971.

Both of the albums I've cited were released before I was born so I have no first hand experience of what it was like then but I have a mother who grew up idolising David Bowie and bought all his albums up to Low (including the pre Space Oddity ones) and I think she mostly played them on a cheap portable with the volume turned down to keep her parents from hearing the obscenities in Aladdin Sane.

The speakers I have are from 1974 (Castle Acoustics Richmond) which I'm led to understand is the period where Hi-Fi became a bit more refined and catered for the well-heeled AOR listeners who had money to spend to hear their Carpenters and Gilbert O'Sullivan records in style while the kids listened to Bowie and T-Rex on whatever they could lay their hands on.

I guess the reason why I'm posting this thread is because I want to know more about vintage equipment and I'm curious about how far it's possible to recreate the sound from the days of yore; particularly with turntables where it seems like you have to use a contemporary cartridge and tonearm which I imagine dilutes the experience a bit.

Anyone here have vintage equipment that they still use and I would also love to hear experiences from people who are old enough to remember what it was like in the 60s and 70s. Would you trade what you have now for what you had then?