1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pearl Harbor, The Director's Cut on HDD as a single film - Part II

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by esta56, Jul 19, 2004.

1. esta56

esta56

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    This is continuing from my previous post:

http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=142130

Part I gave some background and some useful links.

Part II was going to be where I detailed the exact steps I went through to create a single film from a the Pearl Harbor, The Director's Cut two disc DVD but this is taking quite a bit of time and a lot of words (especially for a non-typer). So, in Part II I am only going to detail how to rip (and Reauthor) the two discs to your PC. I am no expert on this subject (far, very far from it) but I've followed and (where neccessary adapted) existing info and guides. I am hoping the more knowledgable of you will be able to enhance this guide and perhaps explain what's going on. But if you do add to this, please ensure you explain in simple terms any technical jargon or tasks as this guide is intended for people who don't know or don't want to know the complexities of what's happening 'behind the scenes'.

Right, lets get started -

The software you'll need for this is:

DVDShrink - http://www.dvdshrink.org/where.html
    IfoEdit - http://www.ifoedit.com/
    VobEdit - http://www.ifoedit.com/

I use Theatertek and WinDVD to play rips and I have AnyDVD running to allow Multiregion playback of DVD discs (just info as this may not be relevant to the task).

1. Rip and Re-Author the two Pearl Harbor discs

a) Set-up two Folders on your Hard Disk (HD). PH1 and PH2, for example.
    Note - Make sure you have plenty HD space available, at least 20Gb (though the final result will be under 8Gb)

b) Insert the first disc of Pearl Harbor (PH) and start DVDShrink.