1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PDP435XDE Sky+ Connection?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by sparkz, Nov 4, 2004.

  1. sparkz

    sparkz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    To those 435/505 owners with Sky+.

    I'm looking to upgrade my 433 to a 435 soon. I've seen comments about the screen not being brilliant with sources such as Sky.

    How do you connect your Sky+ box? Do you have to convert svideo to something else?

    Thanks for any input :)

    Mark
     
  2. rajvirdee

    rajvirdee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe you get a good quality scart cable (all pins connected) and connect that to the media box. Its as simple as that!

    Set the sky box to RGB and away you go.
     
  3. sparkz

    sparkz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    rajvirdee, thanks for that.

    I was going to use the svideo to svideo connection as I do with my 433. Somewhere (I can't find it now) I saw some talk about getting a better picture by converting to component. Don't know if this results in anything which is noticeable better?
     
  4. rajvirdee

    rajvirdee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have ordered the 668 with the 435 XDE and sky + so a similar setup to you, and contacted JS (who make converters) and his reply was for me to stick to the RGB route, which should produce slightly better results than Y/C svideo.

    you could get a ls convertor to convert from svideo to component, but I can't see how that will yeild better picture quality.

    ...HOWEVER I MAY BE WRONG !
     
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,471
    sparkz

    SKY+ into the R05 Media Box is straightforward enough - as rajvirdee suggests a decent quality SCART cable and set the SKY+ to Output RGB and the Media Box to Input RGB; no senses whatsoever in messing around with S-Video or any form of converter.

    'Upgrade' may not be the best way to describe a move from a PDP-433HDE to a PDP-434HDE or the latest PDP-435XDE - there's been lots of tweaking and adjustments and the XDE has a new screen filter technology but the basics are quite similar.

    I'd talk through any areas your dissatisfied with with a dealer to assess if the XDE is your best move.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  6. sparkz

    sparkz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, that's interesting Joe and rajvirdee.

    I don't know where I got this idea that svideo was better than the straight rgb. I am using both (one for recording and viewing elsewhere) but for some strange reason I've got svideo to the plasma.

    Joe: Not too sure if Pioneer would consider a 10% increase in brightness, 20% increase in contrast, increased colour range (7 billion) and HDMI tweaking? Take your point though.

    Mark
     
  7. key130

    key130
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Manama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mark - I have a sky box connected to my 435xde using a scart lead. It's not an expensive lead.

    I am happy with the picture. I may spend a few bob more later on to get a good quality lead, but am in no hurry.

    Al.
     
  8. sparkz

    sparkz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Al: Thanks for that. RGB scart it is then...
     
  9. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,471
    Hello sparkz

    As you say the busy beavers back in Japan would be aghast at such a suggestion - then again if I built a false wall with 3 x 43" apertures and lined up a 433HDE, 434HDE and a 435XDE behind the false wall such that you couldn't see which TV was which and played in an HD signal I wonder how quickly they could identify which generation of screen was which.

    Regarding SCART RGB - you have three options:

    01. Fully Wired SCART cable - will transmit your RGB signal plus all the other signals SCART can transmit including Stereo Audio if you intend to use the TV's speakers.

    02. RGB Only SCART cable - built with heavier cross section conductors and heavier screening; these only transmit the video signal.

    03. RGB+Stereo audio Only SCART cable - the video quality of 02 with the added bonus of Stereo audio.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  10. Tantalus

    Tantalus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +3
    Been looking at getting a RGB+Stereo audio only scart cable but can't find one. Any recommendations? How much should on spend?
     
  11. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,471
    Tantalus

    The Supra AV6.4 does what your after - SRP is £109.99.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  12. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +67
    All the usual suspects should be able to sort you out, eg Keene or Lektropacks.
     
  13. teoterone

    teoterone
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wouldn't go nuts on a scart cable if I were you, just get a good quality QED squart for under £30 and you're good to go.

    Like this http://www.hifistore.co.uk/product.php?qsProd=P4110

    Its an excellent cable and will be good to use until HDMI arrives in 2006.
     

Share This Page

Loading...