1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PDA as an alternative to New Pronto

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by PFM, Oct 10, 2001.

  1. PFM

    PFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2000
    Messages:
    451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Barton Upon Humber
    Ratings:
    +17
    A while back(2months) I caught the tail end of the Buyers Guide on Sky's .TV channel and the resident expert was talking about using his colour PDA in the place of a PHilips pronto.
    I own a pronto and cannot believe how good it is, but I would like a colur one... However I think they are a bit over priced for the technology.

    Does anyone know of any PDA's that have the capacity/software & hardware to do the same task as the pronto.

    It must exist as otherwise I dont believe they would have Aired it on the sadly now demised channel

    Anyone any Ideas?

    :cool: :cool: :cool:
     
  2. MartinB

    MartinB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    It sounds like they were referring to Omniremote, a remote programe for Palm OS. There seem to be several drawbacks that I've heard people complain about. The battery life is bad enough in normal use. The position and size of the IR port on Palm (Visors have them on the side). The IR port is designed to work over a distance of inches, and is unreliable over normal viewing distances. I got the impression that the only IR port that was reliable was the add on for pre IRDA Palms, but are any of these colour?
    Personally, I'm waiting for the Colour Matantz to come out, I really want the cursor buttons!

    Martin.
     
  3. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Nice idea but as a replacement for the Pronto it just doesn't work as a solution. I suggest you drop this one.

    Been there, done that, failed as well!
     
  4. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Nice idea but as a replacement for the Pronto it just doesn't work as a solution. I suggest you drop this one.

    Been there, done that, failed as well! :D
     
  5. dannyc

    dannyc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you look at AVSforum there are alot of guys trying to use epods, 3com audrey's, and Compaq I-paq's to control stuff using wireless lan cards. Orange also used an Ipaq to control their future house project. I haven't tried myself as I prefer the simpicity of the pronto
     
  6. PFM

    PFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2000
    Messages:
    451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Barton Upon Humber
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks

    If its not yet viable then fair enough I'll stick with my green Pronto Monochrome.

    You'd have thought that with the rise in PDA's that a viable solution/pronto emulator would have been developed. And with regard to the above comments reference the reliability of the IR, I find this incredible that such an issue has not been resolved (even by a maplins electronics enthusiast!)
    Nic what was the results of your research (just out of interest before I either Drop this one or approach Compaq with a Business Idea?)

    Also If PDA's are so cheap (incomparison to the Pronto (monochrome & colour) and IR sensors & transmitters are but pence to purchase why hasnt anyone done this (£500 for a PDA with pronto capabilities - fine but ~£700 for a Remote control) & I own a first generation machine!!!! :confused:
     
  7. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Take a look at PDAWIN. The TV Remote Controller software is exactly what you are looking for. It even uses ProntoPro CCF files. Only problem is the IR emitter on the iPaq is very (very) weak. If only I could make it stronger then I'd have the PERFECT remote (the iPaq didn't cost me a bean!!)
     
  8. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    The problem is not with the software but the power of the IR transmitter. Palm worked well to about 1m, useless unless you stand next to the TV. Other PDAs are similar. Remote controls have much more powerful IR transmitters.
     
  9. m0v1em4n

    m0v1em4n
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +48
    I have tried the software form PDAwin, and it work ok, with a 3 meter or more distance on my iPAC 3850,
    and if you use the Pronto edit software then you can design your own remote interface,
    there is an other remote programe that is able to use CCF file , that is Net Remote, but it does not support IR, but uses wireless (net remote is here)
    I have also a DVD profile type program called Movie CE on my iPAC so i can keep track on my collection, you can view the program Here


    Steve Morris
     

Share This Page

Loading...