1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PDA advice

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by Shady, Nov 17, 2003.

1. Shady

Shady

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +50
    Hi chaps

The good lady has dropped a few hints regarding PDA's and Christmas (put the two together...). Now, I am new to this game and so I am looking for advice as to the products in the market.

She would only use it to replace her filofax and diary, so a basic address book, diary / calender and financial / expenses features would be all that is required.

We have seen a Palm Pilot which seems to fit the bill at around £50, but I am unsure as to how expandable this would be. I am quite interested in getting her one of the small iPaq's as this would provide connectivity to the PC and operates a Windows type interface with mini Office products she is used to using.

Has anyone any experience with these devices ? What products would be suitable and what software is bundled ? And finally, where are the best places to order them from and what are the typical prices (bearing in mind I am not looking to break the bank) ?

I have looked at a number of sites and there is iPaq h1910 device which appears to be OK. Has anyone any experience of this particular model ?

As always, any help would be appreciated.

Cheers

2. Zef

Zef

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    the compaq 1910 looks like it fits the bill perfectly, the next step up would be to have bluetooth and wireless for connectivity to mobile phones and networks but it doesnt look like your wife needs it. my advice is to stick to a microsoft powered machine as its easier platform to merge into.

3. mince bigalow

mince bigalow

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0