1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PCM digital output? Help!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by candleman, Jan 25, 2004.

  1. candleman

    candleman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    oxford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello all, I'm having difficulty finding which freeview boxes that have a PCM digital output, so I can plug it into my hifi DAC via an RCA digital lead. Any ideas???
    Cheers
    Dave
     
  2. Giles

    Giles
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Sony VTX-D800. It has optical digital out, I got an optical lead this weekend, all works fine.

    Good picture, good software. No complaints with it at all.
     
  3. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,909
    Pace 'Twin' has an optical digital output.
     
  4. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    The Pioneer has an optical output... Not sure if it outputs PCM out of the box... I would double check before purchasing...
     
  5. candleman

    candleman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    oxford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just so you know my DAC does not have an optical input, just the RCA.
     
  6. bxd

    bxd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +136
    Hi,

    I'll also suggest the Pioneer. It's digital output will output pcm.
    Most of the available Freeview boxes probably have optical outputs as it's the more common digital input on 'budget' kit. You can buy a optical to coax converter from the likes of Maplin if you can't find anything suitable.

    Brian
     
  7. CJROSS

    CJROSS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    5,070
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +343
  8. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5,913
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,201
    Philips DTR1500 has a coaxial digital output and an excellent picture :smashin:
     
  9. candleman

    candleman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    oxford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you for the replies, i must say the nokia did look good, until I heard about the "freezing picture" and other bugs. Many people are down about the nokia box. Is it really that bad cos it sounds just the thing I'm after :confused:
    Cheers Dave
     
  10. CJROSS

    CJROSS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    5,070
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +343
    Dave

    The Nokia has its problems as does every other STB out there, its more than just the STB & design of the boxes thats a problem, signal strength is another problem, weather conditions. Ive never had a problem with the 221T bar hanging once when flicking channels very quickly and that was one hang-up, Switched on/off fine. Go to Digital spy and read up about every other box they all have problems, in fact the Pace Twin & Netgem (both toslink optical) have the longest "problem" threads known to man IMO. But thats not saying the 221T is without problems they all have.

    I know for a fact that its the only one with a RCA digital out for sale currently, Pioneer or Phillips had a STB last yeat that was RCA digital output but has been superceded by a toslinked model. Im not saying its the be all & end all, but its the same as any other STB different areas seem to effect these boxes quite differently. Do a bit of a search on Digital Spy before discounting it dude, plenty of people like me like it. And as a DAC owner actively looking for a RCA PCM output I still think its the best VFM box on the market for your needs. I bought mine from John Lewis for £140 with a view if it did not work I would exchange it (they confirmed this when I bought it) for another.

    ATB
     
  11. candleman

    candleman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    oxford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cheers CJ, seems like my choices are limited, so I'm off to find the best deal on a Nokia!!
    Thanks all for the help
    Dave
     
  12. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Get a Tos to coax converter
     

Share This Page

Loading...