1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PCI Graphix Cards!!!

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by ShMoNe!!, Jun 18, 2005.

1. ShMoNe!!

ShMoNe!!

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello helpfull ones,
    i am a complete PC novice and wish to update my Graphix Card to enable me to play CS.Source. Problem is i only have PCI slots. Whats the best card i can get for no more than £120

2. AML

AML

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +229
    I cant be sure here but, you might have a hard time finding a card for PCi that can run a game like CS Source.My advice is build a new PC with a new motherboard with at least AGP X8.

You can build a decent PC these days for about 2 or 3 hundred quid. Thats with no software or monitor though.

You would need new mo bo, CPU, memory and a good graphics card like a 6800.

If your PC only has PCi slots and no AGP slot then i assume that its quite old?

Your CPU may infact be the limiting factor in playing a game like CS.S. So it might be better to start again from scratch.

Specs I recomend would be:

P4 3ghz or higher, 1gb RAM, and an Nvidia 6800GT.

Use the built in sound chips on the new board and anything else that comes built in. (LAN and such)

As for OS. I recomend getting a copy of XP for gaming. Home or Pro.

That should keep you going for a while.

3. ShMoNe!!

ShMoNe!!

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    My PC is less than 1 year old! Its a **** Dell tho.
    Thanks for your help looks like i'll have to start again

4. Kamui

Kamui
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Best bet is to open it up and find the make/model no. on the motherboard then do a google search.