PC Upgrade

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by kennydies, Sep 2, 2002.

  1. kennydies

    kennydies
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    Dear all,

    I wondered if someone could offer some advise.

    I have the PC as layed out below and have almost filled the 120GB hard drive and will need to purchase another one.

    Could someone give some advise how I can add an extra hard drive into the system. If I am able to add an additional one in do I then need to buy an uprated power unit and cooling system?

    Dell Dimension 4500 2.26GHz
    2.26GHz Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with 512K cache
    512MB DDR RAM
    40GB Hard Drive
    120GB Hard Drive
    64MB nVidia GeForce2 MX Graphics Card (TV OUT)
    8X IDE CD Drive
    8X IDE DVD/CDRW COMBO DRIVE
    Creative Labs SB Live 1024 Voice Sound Card
    Microsoft Windows XP

    Thanks
     
  2. enajh2

    enajh2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Loughborough, England
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you get a motherboard with RAID you can install up to 4 additional drives I think, and still have your existing IDE devices, or you could just delete some of your porn!!!!!!!! :D ;) :rolleyes:
     
  3. kennydies

    kennydies
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +4
  4. enajh2

    enajh2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Loughborough, England
    Ratings:
    +1
    Do a search for RAID. I don't know enough about it myself to explain it. This is what is used to set up mirrored or striped arrays of two or more disks.

    That IDE card would steal bandwidth of your main bus, slowing down your soundcard, tv card etc.

    Your best bet for the time being is to replace your 40Gb disk with another 120Gb one. You would need to change little else if you did this.

    Or get yourself a DVD writer and backup your videos or back stuff up to CDR.
     
  5. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    42,369
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you'll never see.
    Ratings:
    +7,808
    Do you want to keep the data on the HD?
    You can add an other HD buy taking an other lead of your IDE2 on the MB Or use a lead that has a second socket on the lead most do. Then set the new HD to slave, this will then show up as D drive.
    Raid can be used to mirror drives i.e. if one goes you have a back up of everything, or striping 1 bit of info goes to 1 them the other HD, you then can retrieve date twice a fast. Only thing you lose all the data on your first drive if you use it in a stripe, and data has to be started from scratch. Also you have to use similar sized drives, as if you use a 100GB drive and a 120 GB you will only get the use of 100 on the 120 drive.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice