1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pc Upgrade Peeps

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Spooksta, May 11, 2003.

  1. Spooksta

    Spooksta
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2000
    Messages:
    2,677
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Ratings:
    +296
    OK
    Im about to upgrade my pc (currently 1.3 athlon 256 pc133 Epox mobo)
    I was then going to order this lot and wonderd waht people thought of parts and price....

    Asus A7V8X-LSA1394 DDR333 KT400 x8AGP +Lan+USB2+AT £90.48

    AMD *Retail* Athlon XP "Barton" 2500+ (1.83 GHz)
    £107.92

    512Mb PC3200 (PC400) DDR Memory (Major) £49.35

    Carriage £7.00
    TOTAL £255.97

    Questions i have......
    1. Is it worth getting PC400 or get PC333
    2. Ive heard that Asus baord takes DDR400 now?
    3. Should i get a Barton chip or spend the £125 on a faster
    AMD *Retail* Athlon XP 2600+ (2.08 GHz) *333 FSB* with AMD Heatsink & Fan ????
    4 . Whats Major and Branded mean when next to memory ????

    The total is only £255 with delivery and i could flog my current "bits" for £90 so only cost me £165 upgrade
    Thanks for your help
    ps
    im not after a gfx card yet cos waiting for DOOM to come out 1st
    Want to get the pc board and chip upgraded now so when i get new gfx i can concentrate all my money in that area. Ive got a GF3 Ti200 at the mo
    cheers for any help
     
  2. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    I would go for an Nforce 2 motherboard, EPOX or ASUS. Plus you are better off getting 2x256 PC2700 memory, Corsair or Twinmos. On the N-Force 2 mobos they use dual DDR, which means your two sticks go faster than one :)

    The speed between a VIA and Nforce 2 chipset is fairly significant.

    On the memory side, you are only really going to benefit from DDR400 if you are going to overclock, at stock speeds AMDs tend to perform better with DDR333.
     
  3. Spooksta

    Spooksta
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2000
    Messages:
    2,677
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Ratings:
    +296
    Thats good advice thanks.
     
  4. mephistopheles

    mephistopheles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd go for an AthlonXP 2600+ rather than a 2500+ 'Barton'; they overclock better and are cheaper.

    Whatever you do DON'T get a 'Barton' with a KT400 chipset; this combination runs PC2700 only. As the man said go for an nForce2. You can run PCB rev 2.0 of the ASUS A7N8X/XP2600 at 220FSB with XMS3500. it's pretty quick!
     
  5. Spooksta

    Spooksta
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2000
    Messages:
    2,677
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Ratings:
    +296
    So you mean this memory
    Corsair XMS 256mb DDR 434MHz PC3500 Cas 2 - with Heat Spreader £65 a stick and i should get to for the Nforce board yup ?
    That memory is mad compared to my Pc133 I didnt realise memory had made such leaps in 2 years.The more i look into this the more confused im getting lol
    But in real terms the DDR is only 217mhz realy yes? so 220fsb would oc that memory by 3mhz
    I h8 being a noob :suicide:
     
  6. mephistopheles

    mephistopheles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep. If you do go for Corsair, I would get the TwinX; it's low latency and comes in matched pairs.

    BTW you don't HAVE to have PC3500; you could use PC3200 with the nForce2 set, or even PC2700 for that matter (to run at the stock 333 MHz of the Athlon 2600+), though it might not reach quite as high as 220 MHz when you overclock it!

    I was just giving an example of what I know is possible.
     
  7. Spooksta

    Spooksta
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2000
    Messages:
    2,677
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Ratings:
    +296
    Yup i realised that
    cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...