1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PC - TV connection

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Erick, Mar 27, 2004.

1. Erick

Erick
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry if this is in the wrong section, I don't have a clue which forum to post it in.

I want to use my TV as a monitor for my PC, to watch movies. I bought a PC-DVD-TV kit yesterday. I set it up and the screen is black and white, has a high contrast and is also flickering.

Do I have to configure the PC to so that it knows it's connected to the TV so the picture quality is improved?

It is connected to a scart connector from the TV/OUT socket on the back of the PC.

BTW - I'm no expert on PCs so please be as simple as possible.

Thanks very much.

2. Pootle

Pootle
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sounds like you're only picking up half the signal.

Is the TV out on your video card S-video?

If so you need an S-video scart input socket on your TV and a scart cable that carries s-video. Bit messy , but the scart standard has been bodged to keep it up to date.

If your TV has a second scart, try it, as often the 2 sockets are different modes (one RGB, one s-video).

Try a composite video output from your PC if it has one - quality won't be good, but at least it should all work.

Even with s-video you can't use it really as a PC monitor, the resolution of a TV, and of an s-video connection just isn't up to a digital display - be fine for watching films and TV though.

3. Erick

Erick
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Errmm, I'm not sure.

I have the scart connector thing, which has the red/white/yellow sockets on the back as well as an S-video socket to which it is connected to the TV/OUT on my PC... It has 4 pins on the end of the cable?