PC to Sony 10HT projector

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by slingshot, Mar 30, 2004.

  1. slingshot

    slingshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    I'm trying to hook a Sony 10HT 1366X768 projector upto my laptop which has an crappy intel 82855 GM card. The external monitor output only seems to provide resolutions for 4 X 3 monitors i.e. 1024 X 768.

    Does anyone know how I can get it to drive the full 1366 X 768 or somewhere closer i.e. 1280 X 768 ?

    The build in screen appears to work OK with 1280 X 768.

    Cheers

    Slingshot
     
  2. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,455
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Ýou're out of luck................ the 10HT won't accept a 1:1 pixel match......

    Check this out

    .........from a FAQ here...


    You could google a bit more yourself, you might discover whether there's been a firmware upgrade, but I don't think there has.....

    Sean G.
     
  3. slingshot

    slingshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    Cheers

    Thanks for the info, I'll have a look for firmware fixes.
     
  4. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +198
    dependant on whether the graphics chipset will accept it you can use the followig resolutions to fool the 10ht into thinking it isnt a PC signal and then it will use the full panel. But - as previously pointed out it isnt 1:1 pixel mapping. Text therefore is a bit blurry. Films look fanatastic though.

    Using Powerstrip you can set up these resolutions:

    1184x666
    1280x720
    1920x1080

    Fantastic source of knowledge devoted to 10HT is here:

    http://www.thebigpicturedvd.com/cgi-bin/dcforum/dcboard.cgi?az=list&forum=DCForumID27&conf=DCConfID1
     
  5. slingshot

    slingshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    Thanks for the info, but powerstrip would mean I need to upgrade my graphics card, and it was only for a quick look at some wmv 720p stuff.

    Don't really want to start spending loads of time and money setting up a HTPC.

    Again thanks for the useful info.

    Slingshot
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice