pc to recordable dvd

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by andyeg, Jan 26, 2003.

  1. andyeg

    andyeg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know if it's possible to transfer video from my pc's hard disk to my panasonic hs2 hard disk?
    if it is how do you go about doing it?

    please advise
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    Yes, but you will need a TV output on the PC.
    This will be either a yellow phono plug or S_Video plug. You will also need a sterio jack to get the sound from your soundcard.
    I do not know the panny hs2, but guess it will have a scart connecter for the input, so the above will need to terminate in a scart plug with signal either switched on scart or out of scart.
    Set the hs2 to record via the appropriate input and play back the video in full screen on the PC.
    The above will work but will result in a loss of quality as the transfer is in analogue.
    If the hs2 has a DV input and your PC has a DV port then you will be able to transfer all the video/sound via this in digital.

    Mark.
     
  3. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    Just check on their web site.
    The hs2 does have a DV-input :)
    You will need a 4pin to 6 pin DV cable (standard DV cable type). 4pin end into hs2, 6pin end into PC DV card (assuming you have a DV card on PC). Use your capture software to output the video to tape and set the hs2 to capture.

    Good luck,
    Mark.
     
  4. andyeg

    andyeg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the advice Mark.

    I used phono to phono and it worked ok.
    I have a Panasonic tv as well so i was able to use Q-link to link both tv and dvd and then use the direct tv record button to record whatever was being played on that channel.
    Worked a treat!

    Unfortunately i dont seem to have a DV port on my pc so for now i'll just have to make do with analogue.

    Thanks again

    Andy
     
  5. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,986
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +132
    Mark

    Have you actually outputted from PC to set top via Firewire? I didn't think it could be done. If you have what software/hardware did you use?
     
  6. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    No. All my editing and mastering has been done on a PC.
    I have heard of people capturing video via firewire on a standalone DVD recorder, so it is possible.

    The best information for this can be found at www.computervideo.net

    Mark.
     
  7. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,986
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +132
    Mark

    I think that's direct from the camcorder. There's no way to output digitally from the hard disc on the PC - more's the pity, I guess that way they make sure we have to have a set top recorder and a PC burner.
     

Share This Page

Loading...