1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pc to amp sound out

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by dennis, Jun 5, 2004.

1. dennis

dennis

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +54
    why is it so hard to get sound from my audigy2 to output to my pioneer amp?
    i bought a cable that has rca mini plug to two phonos that was supposed to do the job,result? silence,i put mini plug into digital out on card and phonos into spare inputs on amp set it to digital out on card ,ive tried everything to get this to work,can someone help using idiot proof language :lease:

2. The Dude

The Dude

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    have you checked the manual for your Pioneer ?

As a beginner I had a similar problem with my Denon amp..

The digital inputs are assignable, i was plugged into input 1 which was assigned to a different source than the 'DVD' button i was pressing on the amp..

might not be the case with your Pioneer, but worth checking the manual I'd say..

3. dennis

dennis

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +54
    thanks dude,i think i know what you mean,i'll try it :thumbsup:

4. Mark Ward

Mark Ward

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +18
    I'm assuming your amp is a 5.1 Home Theater type here.

OK, the mini-jack to 2 phono lead isn't the lead you need for this. That lead is for analogue out (ie. the Front L/R minijack socket on your Audigy card).

What you are currenly trying to do is take the digital stream out of the soundcard and inputting it into a spare analogue input (phono pair) on your amp.

For now you could put the minijack end in the Front L/R and set your card up as 2 channel. This way you'd get some suitable sounds, but you really need a standard RCA plug digital interconnect together with an RCA to Mini-Jack adaptor (available from Maplins).