PC speaker splitter.

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Dj_Sim, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. Dj_Sim

    Dj_Sim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    655
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hi

    I have 2 computers next to each other, I need to share my one set of speakers with both machines.

    I am looking for a website to order one from but no luck.... tried maplins.
     
  2. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +763
    Wouldn't a speaker switch be easier - and get around any contention or load problems (because you won't then be able to have 2 in parallel, which would about halve the impedance and could result in signal starvation or even damage).

    Chris Muriel, Manchester
     
  3. stug45

    stug45
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    is it not possible to have the set of speakers playing both signals?
     
  4. Dj_Sim

    Dj_Sim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    655
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +14
    Only one machine will be on at a time.

    I dont fully understand your reply?
     
  5. mossym

    mossym
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    get one of these..
    Four-Way Stereo Audio Switch Box > Maplin

    and some 3.5mm to phono cables, connect both pcs to separate inputs on the switch using these, then connect the speakers to the output of the switch using a male phono to 3.5mm female adapter. all are available from maplin..
     
  6. Dj_Sim

    Dj_Sim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    655
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +14
    Shorley I can do that with just a cheap wire?
     
  7. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +763
    Mossym highlighted just what I was recommending - a simple speaker switch.

    Chris Muriel, Manchester
     
  8. mossym

    mossym
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    not without possibly causing damage to your seakers or pcs. if you're willing to swap the cable between the pcs every time then yes you can do it with a simple wire
     
  9. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,520
    Hello Dj Sim

    You need to provide a bit more info before folk can advise you on this one.

    When you say Speakers do you mean HiFi type 'passive' speakers that are powered by an external Amplifier or the Active type that have an on-board amplifier (the norm for small desk top PC speakers).

    If you have Active Speakers then you require a 2x1 Source selection Switch - which is very different from and a lot less costly than an Amplifier selector switch that lets you share one pair of Passive Speakers between two amplifiers.

    If you employ a 'Y' cable between two line out sources (your PC's) and the line in on a set of active Speakers you run the risk of damaging your kit - better to buy a switch.

    Joe
     
  10. Dj_Sim

    Dj_Sim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    655
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +14
    Thanks guys.

    They are active speakers, I am going to buy a new KVM with audio support.
     

Share This Page

Loading...