1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PC setup for AE300

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by mwatson800, Apr 4, 2003.

  1. mwatson800

    mwatson800
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Farnborough
    Ratings:
    +14
    Please can someone help me find the best settings for PC via the AE300

    For the AE100 (just retired!) I was using special timings from Powerstrip for 856x480/WIDE 480...but these don't work now?

    Any help much appreciated.

    Many thanks
    Matt :D
    (new, very impressed AE300 owner)
     
  2. Julia

    Julia
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Matt,

    Congrats for your good choice!:clap:
    Remember to do your flicker tweak to eliminate the scanline....

    I hope that it won't come as a surprise the fact that there is no 1:1 pixel mapping on AE300 (I'm sure the one who's gonna find it will become a superduper hero!!!;) )

    There are several VGA settings and a few DVI settings. You'll just have to explore and experiment which one is best for you (I use 1075x600 DVI).

    I've made a compilation of various VGA settings from AVS from
    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?s=&postid=2061412#post2061412
    -----------------------------------------------
    VGA native (960x540):

    PowerStrip timing parameters:
    960x540=960,33,40,79,540,9,1,19,37750,1

    Generic timing details for 960x540:
    HFP=33 HSW=40 HBP=79 kHz=34 VFP=9 VSW=1 VBP=19 Hz=60

    Linux modeline parameters:
    "960x540" 37.750 960 993 1033 1112 540 549 550 569 +hsync +vsync
    -----------------------------------------------

    DVI 856x480:

    PowerStrip timing parameters:
    856x480=856,16,88,104,480,1,3,13,31828,3094

    Generic timing details for 856x480:
    HFP=16 HSW=88 HBP=104 kHz=30 VFP=1 VSW=3 VBP=13 Hz=60

    Linux modeline parameters:
    "856x480" 31.828 856 872 960 1064 480 481 484 497 -hsync -vsync
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    960x540 via VGA settings by sak (based on settings by Koslian):
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    PowerStrip timing parameters:
    960x540=960,33,40,79,540,9,1,19,37750,272

    Generic timing details for 960x540:
    HFP=33 HSW=40 HBP=79 kHz=34 VFP=9 VSW=1 VBP=19 Hz=60

    Linux modeline parameters:
    "960x540" 37.750 960 993 1033 1112 540 549 550 569 +hsync +vsync


    1280x768 via VGA Settings by Ryan Pream:
    ---------------------------------------------------
    PowerStrip timing parameters:
    1280x768=1280,64,136,184,768,1,3,21,79200,3090

    Generic timing details for 1280x768:
    HFP=64 HSW=136 HBP=184 kHz=48 VFP=1 VSW=3 VBP=21 Hz=60

    Linux modeline parameters:
    "1280x768" 79.200 1280 1344 1480 1664 768 769 772 793 -hsync +vsync

    HDTV50 settings by mkang
    -------------------------------

    * Vertical overscan is eliminated.
    * Horizontal overscan is only 4 pixels on either side
    * Most importantly, the vertical bands of fuzzies are gone!

    960 x 519
    HORZ: 28.125 kHz
    HFP 249
    HSW 56
    HBP 55

    VERT: 49.956 Hz
    VFP 12
    VSW 28
    VBP 4

    If vertical overscan is not an issue:

    960 x 540
    Dot Clock 37.125 MHz
    HORZ: 28.125 kHz
    HFP 249
    HSW 56
    HBP 55

    VERT: 49.956 Hz
    VFP 2
    VSW 1
    VBP 20

    1:1 (sort of) by Rob Lewis
    ------------------------------
    I think I've found an exact 1:1 mapping. Unfortunately, it's not what we're all after; but I do think it is technically 1:1 exactly.

    If you use VGA @ 800x600 and set the pj's Aspect to VSCROLL, the desktop snaps to a perfect 1:1. Of course, you don't get to see the whole screen at once, so it's kind of useless; but maybe it's a clue. As for desktop sharpness, it's absolutely dead nuts on, and looks wonderful.
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Here are the 856x480 Powerstrip settings. I only entered the resolution and refresh rate (60Hz) and didn't change anything else:

    Pixel Clock 33.409 MHz

    Horizontal:
    Front Porch 24
    Sync Width 88
    Back Porch 96
    Scan Rate 31.4 kHz

    Vertical:
    Front porch 1
    Sync width 1
    Back porch 45
    Frame rate 59.582 Hz
    --------------------------------------------------------

    Enjoy your new toy!

    :clap: :hiya:
    Julia
     
  3. mwatson800

    mwatson800
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Farnborough
    Ratings:
    +14
    Thanks Julia, very helpful indeed

    Yes, I just checked the Flicker from the service menu (http://www.avstuff.net/viewtopic.php?t=12) and all set to 73 which is fine with only a smidgen if you look hard with green.

    I'll have a fiddle with Powerstrip tomorrow night!

    Matt :smoke:
     
  4. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    AFAIK, 1:1 pixel mapping via HCPC (either DVI or VGA) hasn't still been managed.

    This IMHO rules out the AE300 for HCPC use. So, it would seem a progressive component DVD player is the best bet.

    Pity as the AE100 via PC in 1:1 mapping was THE only way to go :(

    Good post BTW Julia ;)
     
  5. mwatson800

    mwatson800
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Farnborough
    Ratings:
    +14
    Forgave me for not conforming here :) but I am asking this question with just PC gaming and net surfing etc in mind. All DVD playback for me is via standalone Sony player and component connection (which I found in terms of quality to be not that far off PowerDVD reference).

    So in light of this, I will be seeking the best working desktop resolution for gaming, net surfing etc.

    Many thanks
    Matt
     
  6. gothmog

    gothmog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sunny Shipley
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use 1280x720 for gaming, works well especially for those few PC games that support 16:9 resolution :)

    The 960x519 resolution mentioned in Julia's post is a funny one took me some messing around in powerstrip to actually get the AE300 to accept it as HDTV50 not WIDE480 (This is probably the reason 1:1 isn't working 960x540 seems to be detected as WIDE600 not HDTV, software bug almost certainly). Anyway when you do get it to lock you get a perfect 1:1 mapping in the horizontal and a perfectly crisp desktop. DVD however looked nasty on it for me it was too clean it was like watching DVD's on my TFT, I could see every artifact. Maybe I need to upgrade from PowerDVD :D

    -- Jon
     
  7. xander

    xander
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm trying to keep my projector setup database (see link below) up to date with all the latest settings. Please let me know if someone discovers anything new that needs to be added (or you can add it yourself).
     
  8. flapcats

    flapcats
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it turns out it's software and Panasonic release new machines which will accept PC 1:1 mapping, will we be entitled to an upgrade of some sort?
    If it was a firmware update, how would the end-user install it?
     
  9. gothmog

    gothmog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sunny Shipley
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I'm an embedded software engineer (ZZzz) and that SD slot looks like it would be handy for firmware updates to me!

    Only panasonic know how it would be done otherwise though :)

    -- Jon
     

Share This Page

Loading...