1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PC or DVD recorder

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by jackpot, Dec 29, 2004.

1. jackpot

jackpot
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to all this but am in a quandry about whether to buy a Sony Vaio RZ504 PC or a sony 900 DVD recorder.
    I'm wanting to record off the TV, copy VHS to DVD all via the hard drive. I dont know whether the functionality would be better on the stand alone RDVD. If anyone has had experience with the PC side of things then your views would be welcome. FYI the Pc comes with a 250 gig harddrive
    thanks

2. laser

laser

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +28
    If you are going to do a lot of timeshifting from TV (terrestial, Freeview, Sky) then a set top recorder is much more practical and probably a lot more reliable and quieter.

Do you plan to leave the PC in the main living room next to the TV?

If your primary use is going to be archive VHS and camcorder footage and carry out lots for editing which needs to be frame specific a PC is probably the way forward but I would think seriously about using a tower PC for regular use. If you are going to buy the PC anyway see how it goes but if the option is one or the other then I would go for a set top recorder just for ease of use.

3. jackpot

jackpot
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    From what i understand of the PC, its in 2 units. The PC is seperate from the Media center. So the PC would be in one room and the media center next to the TV. The PC is now discontinued so its difficult getting information on it although some internet sites still stock it.