PC in a cupboard

SeeNoWeevil

I'm considering building another gaming PC at some point but it needs to be something which will fit into the room without looking like, well, a PC. One consideration is mounting the motherboard straight into a cupboard. The cupboard is the one to the far right, it's large with a mesh front and the wooden counter slides forward to create a vent into the cupboard. The plan was to mount a very large, slow fan on the meshed door to draw air through from the gap created at the top/rear. Anyone ever tried/seen anything similar? I can't really see why it would behave any differently from a typical PC enclosure.

Cheers

Tom Martow

Distinguished Member
I'm no expert on this by far, but you've got to think how you're going to mount your components. I personally wouldn't bother with a large fan but go with 140mm fans.

Are you going to be okay with opening your drawer and seeing a bunch of cables hanging about?

Depending on what hardware you're getting why not opt for a case you can build into and fit into there? Like a htpc case, there is a lot of people here who have small cases which could really help you.

John - don't you dare.

Chox1988

Distinguished Member
if i was sticking it in there i'd go for a 200mm+ fan on the front, and a 120mm exhaust that i'd make a vent for.

But i really wouldnt bother, just stick an itx or matx small case in there, seems the no brainer option tbh.

You could also just do that and still have a massive fan up front to get a load of air into the cupboard.

p.s. nice set up :)

Razor

GMC79

Distinguished Member
Bin the ornament and candle and stick the pc up there, all the juicey bits showing thru a nice windowed case :D

Would certainly be possible to mount stuff in the cupboard, might be a bit of fathom it as you go tho. Or some kind of shelf behind the TV with a small HTPC case or something.

Last edited:

SeeNoWeevil