1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PC hardware

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Luker21, Apr 24, 2003.

  1. Luker21

    Luker21
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all.

    Ive got a problem. i want to upgrade my ageing and noisy PC from a PIII 733 to something a bit more 'new-age' I want to keep everything except the motherboard and processor (obviously) and my irritatingly noisy fans. Also a new tower to hold the average amount of components. Im not too good on these things and where to pick them up. So anyone's advice with problems i might come across with putting together would be much appreciated.
    The best advice i would recieve would be on where i could buy these things for the cheapest, and possibly in kit form and which models are the best.
    Cheers.

    xbl gamertag: Luker21.
     
  2. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
  3. Rob.Screene

    Rob.Screene
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Berks, England
    Ratings:
    +45
    Hi Luker,
    dabs.com scan.co.uk and aria.co.uk all vie for cheepest prices, depending on what pc parts you are buying.

    I'd say if you check for something on these 3, you are unlikely to find it cheaper elsewhere.

    Q: Is it a gaming rig or home theater pc (HTPC) or both?
    Q: Are you prepared to sacrifice a little performance for low noise and heat?
    Q: Do you have a preference for Athlons or Pentiums?

    regards,
    Rob.

    XBconnect: Fluff100
     
  4. Luker21

    Luker21
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i like the noise to be as little as possible as it irritates me since my present PC is incredibly noisy but i still want a fast pc that will play the newer games and do all the essentials. any ideas. (PS thanks for the support so far, much appreciated)
     
  5. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have to say I built my p3 733 PC from scratch as a project and as long as you know the basic components you need, a little research is all that is needed to fill in the blanks. Its easy really.

    Funny as I want to upgrade fairly soon as well, I think I will be going the AMD route as well as it seems a lot cheaper. An XP1800+ for example is around £50. Although I find all the different RAM configs a little confusing. But if you need any advice just ask.

    Dabs is a little expensive as suppliers go.
     
  6. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    I would recommend you look at N-Force 2 motherboard, any from Abit, ASUS or Gigabyte are usually good value. Also worth a mention is Epox, these are relatively cheap and also very reliable..... around £80-120.

    Chipwise an Athlon will be anywhere between £50-250. The XP1700 or 1800 are still perfectly adequate for any games playing.

    You may also need to upgrade your PSU to 350W+

    RAM you will need to get at least 512 Mb get two sticks as Nforce 2 runs Dual DDR which makes it a lot faster (2 x 256 Mb 2700 DDR CAS 2), Twinmos is pretty cheap.

    Depending on graphics card you may want to upgrade this as otherwise you may see very little gaming performance increase.
     
  7. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
    Overclockers were doing a special the other week a XP1800 upgraded/clocked to a XP2600 for about £70.
     
  8. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    how the hell do they upgrade a chip and what's so good about these Nforce boards? I'm off to have a look.
     
  9. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
    I think they just do something like a cut in one of the links on the chip or and solder some other link up that tells the chip to run at a different speed.
    They said they had been giving the chips a test before thy sent them out.
     
  10. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    The AMD barton 2500+ seems like great value at around £100
     
  11. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
    Ah but do you need a new board for it?
     
  12. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll need a new board anyway I'm running a P3 chip on an Abit SE6 board now. While I'm at it I'll probably need a new case, PSU and graphics card as well!!
    RAMs still confusing tho... seems that most of the chips and boards support an FSB at 333, but using two matched sticks is faster, is that right?
     
  13. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
    Sorry I wouldn’t know on that question, but by having two stick of ram if one goes down you still have the other to limp along with (just realised there is a pun there).
    On the other hand you double you chances to have something go wrong with one of them.
    I generally use 2 in preference to 1 stick of memory.
    And they generally work out cheaper.
     
  14. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    seems to be something to do with utilizing dual ddr bandwidth if you use two sticks... confused
     
  15. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    well that's what I'm looking to go for...

    AMD Barton 2500+ 333FSB £100
    Abit NF7-S Nforce2 £90
    2x256mb crucial PC2700 £60
    Sapphire Radeon 9700pro ultra £180

    not sure on case and PSU yet

    let me know if I'm going to have any problems with that config
     
  16. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    That should be great :)

    The two sticks of RAM are for running Dual DDR, this method means that the CPU can access each block of memory in parallel, this gives obvious speed benefits.

    Personally on PSU I would recommend Antec, VERY quiet and extremely reliable. Case is down to personal choice, prefereably get something that is large on the inside.
     
  17. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    when running dual ddr is that something you have to set up in bios?
     
  18. Luker21

    Luker21
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    So are the first 3 and a case a good deal and can you fit a different athlon chip in that board. I will get if its gonna be a good set up. anyone know the best place to buy?
     
  19. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
  20. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
    Yes the places I recommended and maybe Aria as someone else suggested. I use to buy my stuff from Dabs but thy started charging for postage and I have read one or two post of people having trouble with missing post and bad customer service. But whilst I use them I had no trouble at all.
    I think I would be tempted to just get from one place in case you have a component go wrong that you cannot trace.
     
  21. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,432
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +260
    Cheiftech cases are very good imo. I bought one when I built my rig six months ago. They look good and come in various colours and sizes at resonable prices with a decent psu .
    Definately get an nforce two board if you want a games machine. You get the benefits of double ddr timings when utilising two sticks of memory. ( Increased my Graphics benchmark by 10-15%)
    Nobody appears to have mentioned Komplett as a good retailer. They tend to offer some good bundles and are always competetive on most pc kit.
     
  22. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers for that, Komplett have a Skyhawk version of that GlobalWin case for £68 instead of £110!!!
     
  23. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
    If you have the money you could always go for a chiller case then get your money back by buying cheaper chip and massively over clocking them or buying a regular chip and over clock it for blistering speed.
     
  24. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    I have used Komplett a couple of times now, they are very good.

    Also Tekheads are quite good too.
     
  25. Luker21

    Luker21
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys thanks for all the support but i am already lost. All these numbers are incredibly confusing. All i wanted to do was upgrade my motherboard, possibly memory (unless i can use my original 512), processor and case. you guys obviously know a lot more than me so can anyone give me what they think is the best set up of components i could get for a fast PC able to play the odd game sufficiently but do the basics with no trouble.
    Thanks a lot.
     
  26. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    Luker 21 please can you post your current spec, then you can be appropriately advised on what to upgrade :)

    Also if you would like to name a budget then we can give you more specific advice.
     
  27. Luker21

    Luker21
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont really know how to find detailed specs on the computer but i have P3 733 processor
    all-in-wonder 128 pro AGP graphics card
    i dont know how to find out what my motherboard is. I dont know what the ram is either.
    can you tell me how i find out.

    I would be willing to fork out around 180-200 quid.
     
  28. boogie man

    boogie man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sunny Berkshire !!
    Ratings:
    +1
    it worth a look at Ebuyer or komplett have got lots from them in pass ,the epox mb are very good got two myself as for ram it better to get one lump of 512 so you at more later when you have the funds but it down to you i perfer AMD myself .

    i second that for antec psu very very good

    p.s i build pc for anyone .:clap:

    Boogie man (Graeme):smoke:
     
  29. Luker21

    Luker21
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    A7N8X SKT A Nforce2 Chipset Motherboard, is this good for 75 quid ccan anyonn tell me what and where i buy ram for this and the best processor. thanks
     
  30. tony kop77

    tony kop77
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Ratings:
    +167
    That is the best motherboard available at the moment. It is an Nforce2 motehrboard and supports DDR Ram 4000mhz though go for 333mhz. If you can afford it get the deluxe version for about £110 because it has dolby digital built in and firewire which is faster than USB.

    I recomend getting the Barton 2500 for £108 or the AMD 2600 for £120. if you are short on the money get 2400 for £85 any of the processors are good.

    512mb DDr ram Winbond PC2700 (333mhz) £55

    Graphics card your card might still be ok i dont know really but if you want a cheapish card that works with direct x 9 and last you a year maybe bit longer then go for the radeon 9500 saphhire pro for £135.

    www.cclcomputers.com They are very good and if you have 10 days to send stuff back if you dont like it. I use them they are very good.

    www.eclipse-computers.com. They price match but i told them i saw the proccesor cheaper elsewhere in an e-mail never heard back from them and appranlty they are not very good if you need technical help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...