1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pc Gaming on AE100

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by keelby1, May 20, 2004.

  1. keelby1

    keelby1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Grimsby
    Ratings:
    +11
    Not sure if this should be in the HCPC section but I'm sure its something simple.

    When playing games I'm only getting a screen ratio of 4.3 with bars on either side on my projector, where as all other programmes display in 16.9. When I use the svideo output through to my tv its in 16.9 my tv.

    Anyone any ideas please
     
  2. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    You need to connect your PC to the projector using a VGA lead rather than s-video (can't quite make out if this is what you have done or not!). You may be able to send a signal out from the PC that will exactly match the AE100's native resolution (858 x 484) by changing the resolution your grpahics card is set to using a piece of software called powerstrip

    http://www.entechtaiwan.com/ps.htm

    Have a read/search around the HCPC forum and you should find plenty more info.

    HTH
     
  3. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,130
    A lot of games will set their resolutions independant of the desktop settings. They are also likely to set a 4x3 resolution as such in PC direct mode the ae100 will map the 4x3 resolution into a 4x3 area of the panel.

    The only way you'll likely get 16x9 is if the game runs in a 16x9 resolution and its one that the ae100 can accept.

    getting a 1:1 mapping of the desktop resolution to the panny ( 856x480 on mione I think) is unlikely to improve things as its really dependant on the game.
     
  4. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    I stand corrected :suicide:

    If you haven't tried it yet I would still give powerstrip a go and see what you think of the DVD playback :cool:
     
  5. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There was a list on avs of "widescreen" supporting games but you'll need to do a search as I saw it ages ago. Most games require a registry tweak/hack though.

    The widescreen resolution will usually appear under the games graphics settings but only if the PC already has the new resolution stored.

    Best of luck.

    :smoke:
     
  6. keelby1

    keelby1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Grimsby
    Ratings:
    +11
    I'm using a vga connection to the panny-I use the svideo connecton for my tv which works fine

    I thought it may be in the games resolution, but it seems strange that all the other programmes apart from the games work in 16.9
     
  7. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +218
    I generally use 800x600 with my AE100 and I'm very pleased with the results and can get a full screen image. What should I be setting it to for superior results?
     

Share This Page

Loading...