Pc Gaming on AE100

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by keelby1, May 20, 2004.

  1. keelby1

    keelby1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Grimsby
    Ratings:
    +14
    Not sure if this should be in the HCPC section but I'm sure its something simple.

    When playing games I'm only getting a screen ratio of 4.3 with bars on either side on my projector, where as all other programmes display in 16.9. When I use the svideo output through to my tv its in 16.9 my tv.

    Anyone any ideas please
     
  2. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    You need to connect your PC to the projector using a VGA lead rather than s-video (can't quite make out if this is what you have done or not!). You may be able to send a signal out from the PC that will exactly match the AE100's native resolution (858 x 484) by changing the resolution your grpahics card is set to using a piece of software called powerstrip

    http://www.entechtaiwan.com/ps.htm

    Have a read/search around the HCPC forum and you should find plenty more info.

    HTH
     
  3. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    A lot of games will set their resolutions independant of the desktop settings. They are also likely to set a 4x3 resolution as such in PC direct mode the ae100 will map the 4x3 resolution into a 4x3 area of the panel.

    The only way you'll likely get 16x9 is if the game runs in a 16x9 resolution and its one that the ae100 can accept.

    getting a 1:1 mapping of the desktop resolution to the panny ( 856x480 on mione I think) is unlikely to improve things as its really dependant on the game.
     
  4. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    I stand corrected :suicide:

    If you haven't tried it yet I would still give powerstrip a go and see what you think of the DVD playback :cool:
     
  5. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There was a list on avs of "widescreen" supporting games but you'll need to do a search as I saw it ages ago. Most games require a registry tweak/hack though.

    The widescreen resolution will usually appear under the games graphics settings but only if the PC already has the new resolution stored.

    Best of luck.

    :smoke:
     
  6. keelby1

    keelby1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Grimsby
    Ratings:
    +14
    I'm using a vga connection to the panny-I use the svideo connecton for my tv which works fine

    I thought it may be in the games resolution, but it seems strange that all the other programmes apart from the games work in 16.9
     
  7. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +220
    I generally use 800x600 with my AE100 and I'm very pleased with the results and can get a full screen image. What should I be setting it to for superior results?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice