1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PC game problem

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by sfpenny1925, Oct 6, 2005.

  1. sfpenny1925

    sfpenny1925
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I am a person who enjoys playing a few games from time to time but isn't really aware of what programs are needed.

    I bought a new game called, "1944:Battle of the Bulge", but it seems that I need hardware T&L and a stencil support.

    Can anybody help me with what this is?

    Also, I was checking the requirements and Nvidia Geforce3 appeared! Do computers come with this or does it have to be installed? If so where from.

    Thank you for your help. Sorry to sound so ridiculous!

    Sfpenny1925
     
  2. Ethics Gradient

    Ethics Gradient
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    3,680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    aka Billy Science - Suni ojna Tas
    Ratings:
    +432
    The graphics card mentioned "Nvidia Geforce3" will probably be a minimum requirement.
    Depending on the age of the machine, you could have any one of a number of graphics cards installed.

    Graphics cards are pretty much generational - and as software and games have progressed, they have included as standard each generations features such as on board T&L ( texture and lighting .... basically means that the graphics card has inbuilt features to process types of lighting and texture effects without relying on the cpu )

    Some computers have an 'on board gfx chip' instead of a stand alone graphics card - this is a money saving option for those on a budget, and they tend to be a little slow and lacking in functionality for the latest applications and games.

    The geforce 3 card is quite old now - most modern games that have any 3D displays will probably be using now standardised techniques - if you have a card / chip that does not support them, then your computer looks like it has not been upgraded for a very long time.

    You need to find out the specifics of your machine:

    what cpu / mem
    what gfx card / chip

    is it an AGP card , an old PCI card , an new PCI Express ( extremely unlikely going off what you are saying )

    knowing what graphics slot your machine has ( AGP PCI PCI-E ) gives you the information on what type of card you can replace it with if necessary.

    If you are really struggling to work out this information - you could try getting some photo's of the inside of the machine and the graphics card if it has a stand alone one --- and we might be able to identify it for you .... most importantly a picture of the slot it sits in / the connector that it uses to plug into the mother board .... along with any specific markings / idenification numbers / names etc on it.
     
  3. InsertNameHere

    InsertNameHere
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +3
    Download and install this program:

    http://www.lavalys.com/products/download.php?pid=1&lang=en


    Run it and click on 'Computer', followed by 'Summary'.

    Under 'Motherboard': 'CPU Type' will give you your processor; 'System Memory' will give you your memory.

    Under 'Display': 'Video Adapter', will give you your graphics card.

    Report back with the results and we'll go from there.
     
  4. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,959
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,934
    I'd say you have a very old VGA card, i seem to recall the very first GeForce having T&L, about 5 years ago?
     
  5. sfpenny1925

    sfpenny1925
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you all very much for your help. I shall download the program. I have this for CPU Mobile Intel Pentium M 740J, 1733 MHz (13 x 133)
    and my total memory is 502 MB.
    I know that I have DirectX9.0 and it has Intel GMA 900.

    I bought this computer only a few weeks ago, I know that it certainly isn't a few years old as it as bought new.

    I hope this helps.

    Thanks once again.

    sfpenny
     
  6. bjd

    bjd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    N. Ireland
    Ratings:
    +176

Share This Page

Loading...