1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PC clock losing time

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by richgtfc, Jan 16, 2005.

  1. richgtfc

    richgtfc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    My PC keeps losing about 5mins over 24 hours, then doesn't seem to lose anymore time. Not really a probem yet, but when I eventually :rolleyes: buy a TV card, it'll be a pain in the :censored: if I keep missing the 5 mins of progs I record. It seems strange that it loses 5 mins quickly then doesn't lose further time. Anyone any ideas?? It's an ASUS A7N8X-E motherboard with a AMD 2500XP, if that helps, less than a year old.

    Cheers
    Rich
     
  2. severnsource

    severnsource
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    I think those boards must have duff clocks. I replaced the board in my server with one of these boards; the original boards clock lost about 6 seconds a day, the new one several minutes a day.

    The solution I use is an internet time synchronisation programme. I use a shareware program called Tardis which can be set to adjust the time as frequently as you want. Mine checks the time every 2 minutes on the duff computer, which means the time is kept within 1 second.

    This does assume that you have always on internet access of course.

    There are other free time setting progs around but I don't have any details about them.

    Your TV card may well be able to set the computers clock. One of the options with the Nebula DigiTV card is to set the clock from the TV which should be accurate, but I don't know how often it checks the time; it would need to do it fairly frequently to keep the clock reasonably accurate.

    Bill
     
  3. richgtfc

    richgtfc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for that, I've been using the windows internet synchro, but that only does it once a week, unless I do it manually. I'll have a search for Tardis. Bit crap a hi tech bit of kit like an Asus mobo can't tell the time!

    Cheers
    Rich
     
  4. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    could it also be the CMOS battery playing up?
     
  5. richgtfc

    richgtfc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    thought about that, just installed tardis, so i'll go with that for now. Can't be arsed disconnecting my pc and taking the case off!! They weird bit is that it loses some time quickly, then is ok from then on?? It has also been losing time since I built it, although it could have a dodgy cmos battery since the start.

    Rich
     
  6. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    It was a battery in one of my pcs that made it lose time, although it didnt stop at 5mins, it carried on till i updated it over the internet. Replaced the battery and all is well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...