1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PC boots up after mains switched back on?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Chipster, Jul 30, 2004.

  1. Chipster

    Chipster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    The girlfriends PC mysteriously boots up when the house mains power is restored after the builders have finished work for the day.

    It is running XP Pro with award bios.

    There must be a setting somwhere to stop it from wakeing like this?

    Ive had a quick look but cant see anything obvious.

    Can you help?

    Cheers.
     
  2. banners

    banners
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +16
    There should be an option in the BIOS, under Power Management. It's called 'Restore on AC/Power loss' in my BIOS. Set it to 'Power Off'. Save the settings and :clap: (hopefully!)

    Regards Steve
     
  3. Chipster

    Chipster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks Steve, but no such setting i'm afraid. :confused:

    Anybody?
     
  4. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    By the sounds of it the case of the PC has a 'hard' power switch. What I mean by this is that when you switch the PC on does the switch actually clicks and stays in, like on a TV.
    Most modern PC cases have a push to make, push to break 'soft' switch that does not click and stay in, like on a VCR.

    The obvious way, if this is the case, to stop the PC rebooting on return of the power would be to make sure that the switch is in the off position before the power is shut off (which it should be anyway if there is going to be a power cut).

    Mark.
     
  5. Chipster

    Chipster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Good theory Mark, but the switch on the front of the PC is a 'soft' type. The only 'hard' switch is on the power supply at the back of the PC.

    Guess we'll just have to switch off from the power supply after use.

    Would still like to get an answer though.

    Cheers,

    Chipster.
     
  6. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    OK another thought:

    Does the PC in BIOS have an option to 'wake on LAN' or 'remote wakeup' or similar?
    If the BIOS is set to this then any input from external devices can cause the PC to boot, ie if the printer left switched on etc.
    We use this option where I work so that if users report problems with their PC's we can, even out of hours, connect to it remotely, even if it was switched off, and have a look without having to run around the office (or even the country or rest of world) looking for the PC. As we have just rolled out about 2000 new Dell PC's within the company I think you can see the advantage of this, for us at least! Obviously not so good for you if this is the cause of the PC booting. But at least if it is the cause you can disable it, well at least you can on all our Dell PC's

    Mark.
     
  7. Chipster

    Chipster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Mark.
    Yes the PC has 'wake on LAN'. I have now disabled it but it still boots when power is switched back on.

    Also I have in wake up events;
    Power on by PCI card (disabled)
    Modem ring resume (disabled)
    RTC alarm resume (disabled)

    Thanks for your thoughts anyway.

    Since it does not appear to be a simple windows/ bios setting maybe its just a quirk of the power supply?
     
  8. spongefactory

    spongefactory
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Tyne Valley
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the exact same problem. I couldn't find anything in the BIos, wake on this, wake on that etc. In the end I shorted the "clear cmos" jumper and that did the trick. Not the perfect solution, I know...
     
  9. Chipster

    Chipster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks spongefactory,

    Its only the disruption of building work that brought this strange wake on thing to light. Its soon to finish so I think we can live with it. Just have to unplug the PC if we go away in case theres a power cut.

    Didnt really want to clear CMOS on the off chance I make matters worse.

    Interesting to know though.
     
  10. cedge

    cedge
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    962
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +71
    Hi there, we are having the same problem. Even when switched off at the back (when we switch it on) the computer acts like it is booting up but nothing comes up on the screen, u then press the switch and it boots but restarts a few times before it works perfectly Ok.

    All the settings above are disabled etc., it has been suggested that my CPU is running hot (52 degrees at boot up AMD 1700+, is this normal?), also could it be a faulty power pack?
     

Share This Page

Loading...