PC able to fry a DLP ?

R

Reeks

Hello all,

A couple of years ago I tried overclocking my PC. Naïvely I thought it would beep, slow to a crash, or simply shutdown. It didn't of course. It fried my CPU almost instantly. In my ignorance I'd just blown a couple of hundred for all of 0 seconds of fun. It's a sickening feeling, really.

Having explained that, please forgive my COMPLETE beginners question here: I want to plug my PC into my Sagem Axium HD-45 DLP without fear of blowing anything up.

I've been running the TV with joy on Sky+, Xbox etc through Scart. I've been using the DVI-d for my Samsung HD850 with no problems (set at 720p)

It might sound stupid to any experts out there, but I remember the Pre-Mutisync monitor days when it was very easy to pop a monitor by putting the wrong resolution and frequency through the VGA (!).

I currently run a reasonable standard PC, with a Nvidia GeforceFX 5800 graphic card. The card has DVI out (I use it for my second monitor -LCD). I haven't tried plugging it into my TV instead, but did investigate the advanced properties beforehand. Nvidia has an expansive disclaimer against damage before you can proceed!... thus my fear.

Hehe, I did I say I was a beginner at this ? ANY advice is most welcome, please.

Oh, and I'll be plugging it in "blind" to start with .. there's no way I'm lugging my big CRT first monitor downstairs again. That stays in the house when I move!

I have pumped too much of a resolution/frequency into a couple of projectors(some almost antique), they simply display 'Frequency out Of Range' warning. Nowadays I think its almost impossible to blow a display just by sending it a standard resolution/frequency (note 'standard' - dont start hand tweaking them if you dont know what your doing)