1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PB12-ISD How good?

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by rdt123, Feb 19, 2005.

  1. rdt123

    rdt123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Busting out a restaraunt in Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +33
    Hi all.

    I currently have a MA Radius 360 sub which i am completely un-inspired by. To be honest i can hardly hear it. I used to have a B&W ASW675 which i found stunning, I am currently on the verge of ordering the SVS, which i know is a lot bigger. According to reveiws on the forums, the SVS is far superior to the B&W, i find this incredibe considering the price, even including VAT and delivery. So how good is the SVS PB12-isd? Will it impress me more than the 675? Any thought gratefully received

    Rob
     
  2. Diamond

    Diamond
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should mail Ron @SVS and tell your room size and budget etc. He's the best one to advice which model fits you. Even the smallest of them produces incredible bass, could stand against double the price. Buy the biggest, baddest and most expensive you can afford! :smashin:
     
  3. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    So have the hundred plus forum members that have already gone down this route. From memory Gonzo and Stellavision both upgraded from the B&W 675 to SVS cylinders and were pleased with the results.
     
  4. Andywilliams

    Andywilliams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,078
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    notts.
    Ratings:
    +63
    Hi
    Dont know about the pb12isd but the 20-39 pc+ is a good jump up from the asw675 so i doubt you would be dissapointed with the pb12isd.Btw why did you change the asw675 for the monitor audio sub as the b&w is one of the best compact subs ive heard.
    Cheers Gonzo. :)
     
  5. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +76
    Actually I went from an SVS 25-31 PCi to the ASW675 ;)
    I did miss the powerful bass of the SVS and the 675 did not stay long. The B&W is a cracking sub for the size, but if I had to make a choice between the two again, I would choose the SVS.
    Incidently, the 25-31 PCi is very similar in performance to the PB12-ISD, although Erik over at SVS has said that the box sub performs a little better than it's similar spec cylinder.
    I'm sure you would'nt be dissappointed in the PB12-ISD, but if you are after a real subsonic experience I would maybe look at one of the larger ones. This does of course depend on your budget and space available in your room.
     
  6. rdt123

    rdt123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Busting out a restaraunt in Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +33
    Think i'll order. SVS are sending me a quote but have been advised at around £540 with charges. Bargain
     
  7. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +76
    :smashin:
    Be sure to give us your thoughts when it arrives.
     
  8. Diamond

    Diamond
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hear dollar is going weaker, so good times coming to us. :suicide:
     
  9. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +76
    I hope so. I'm going to Florida soon so I mint have to pick up some goodies! :D
     
  10. Andywilliams

    Andywilliams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,078
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    notts.
    Ratings:
    +63
    Me too :D
     
  11. rdt123

    rdt123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Busting out a restaraunt in Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +33
    I was supposed to be emigrating. went for a few months but came back and started from scratch, now looking for an uphgrade. have decided to go for it!
     
  12. rdt123

    rdt123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Busting out a restaraunt in Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +33
    Have ordered, do i need a different mains cable. They are sending it set up for UK voltage but is the cable different? If so where can i get one, Ian? Gilesy?
     
  13. Pollywoggle

    Pollywoggle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,442
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +81
    Just use an old kettle/printer/pc lead, that's what a lot of us have done.
     
  14. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +128
    Or just cut the 2pin plug off and fit your own mains plug.
     
  15. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +128
    I didn't explain that too well.
    The lead comes with a euro 2pin plug like the one on a shaver ,you can just cut this off and fit a uk 3pin plug.
     
  16. rdt123

    rdt123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Busting out a restaraunt in Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +33
    Well it's shipping tomorrow hopefully. I just hope the hype is not over blown. I'm hoping to be stunned
     
  17. rdt123

    rdt123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Busting out a restaraunt in Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +33
    DOn't you just love tracking parcels online! CHecked today and my sub has made its from cleveland to toledo and is now on its way to toronto airpot! Don't know when it'll be here but its making good progress! come on baby!
     
  18. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I would say that if your sub is en route to Toronto it's got lost
     
  19. rdt123

    rdt123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Busting out a restaraunt in Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +33
    Well no, Toronto is just around the lake and the quickest freight flight into manchester.
     
  20. rdt123

    rdt123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Busting out a restaraunt in Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +33
    I am reliably informed its a 3 and 1/2 hour drive to toronto from toledo
     
  21. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +128
    My came via Toronto airport,looks like Ian J got it wrong :D
     
  22. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +128
    I wouldn't worry i was wrong once. :rotfl:
     
  23. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +128
    Well i hope it was Toronto :eek:
     
  24. rdt123

    rdt123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Busting out a restaraunt in Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +33
    how long did it take to arrive?
     
  25. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +128
    Didn't take long at all ,would have took about 3days but was stuck in the airport over the weekend.It landed over here on a Friday night, i rang bax on Monday and got the sub the next day.Once its landed i would give them a day to sort things out and ring them if they haven't rang you.
     
  26. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    That's very odd as mine flew straight into Birmingham airport from Toledo without the necessity of touching down in a foreign country.

    If I am wrong I will accept the rebuke as it does happen occasionaly. In 1987 I gave my wife the wrong tyre pressures for my car when I sent her to the service station to check the tyres.
     
  27. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +128
    Mr J rdt123's sub will be landing at Manchester airport as mine did, either there are no flights from Toledo to Manchester or none on the day of dispatch either way you are wrong :nono: and his sub was not lost on the back of some truck. :rolleyes: :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...