Passive Subs - How to connect?

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Mark Ward, Apr 30, 2002.

  1. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,815
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    I've bought a pair of B&WPCS8 THX Passive Subs, together with 3 FCM8 THX Speakers and a pair of SCM8 Surrounds today.

    I bought them because I wanted the amps that were sold with them, but I'm curious to see how the whole setup compares to my current setup. How do I connect up a pair of passive subs, giving the access to the ".1" channel?

    Cheers,

    Mark.
     
  2. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    Two options (#2 only applies if the subs have a x-over)

    1. In parallel to the main speakers and the sub is disabled in the setup of the AV amp (SUB=NO) - LFE will be routed to mains and thus to the sub, however all bass and LFE will be duplicated

    2. Speaker out from amp to speaker in at sub, speaker out from sub to speaker - now you can use the internal x-over and bass/LFE will not be duplicated (SUB=NO applies here, too)
     
  3. Ramius

    Ramius
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2000
    Messages:
    1,079
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +308
    If you have dedicated amps for them, then think of them really as active.

    So from your Denons 'sub out' to the passive subs amp, then onto the passive sub.

    Let your Denon control the show (crossover etc.)
    That's a THX setup.

    Cheers
    Boris
     
  4. Ramius

    Ramius
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2000
    Messages:
    1,079
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +308
    Reiner's first example wouldn't be advisable. :)

    Wired in parallel with the mains, without a low pass filter or crossover, the sub would be receiving the full frequency range.

    Cheers
    Boris
     
  5. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,815
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hmm, I only have one sub out, yet I have 2 passive subs. I do have 2 power amp channels available.

    How do I get 2 passive subs, each with their own power amp running from the one Sub Out?

    Thanks,

    Mark.
     
  6. Ramius

    Ramius
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2000
    Messages:
    1,079
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +308
    Hi

    Split the sub out signal with a 'y-splitter/connector thingy' then feed each signal into a power amp channel. :D


    Cheers
    Boris
     
  7. Ramius

    Ramius
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2000
    Messages:
    1,079
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +308
    Is it a bridgeable two channel amp that's capable of driving a 4 Ohm load?

    If so then another way is to bridge the amp, parallel your subs to create the 4 Ohm load and feed the amp with the mono sub out signal.

    (I found the specs of your subs, they've an 8 Ohm impedance.)

    Do you have the amp's specs?

    Cheers
    Boris
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice